just installed, and can't find drivers

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bencpht

i am extremely new to linux
specs

red hat linux 8
athlon xp 1700
msi k7n420 pro mobo
onboard Nforce sound
onboard NIC
onboard vga (not being used)
msi geforce 4 ti4200
256mb pc2100 ddr
lg dvd/cdrw combo (seen as generic)
wd caviar 40gb ata100

I can't find linux drivers for the NIC or sound. I'm using generic geforce 4 drivers for vga, but can't find anything compatible with onboard sound or NIC. Linux drivers are not on the mobo's installation cd, nor are they available on msi's website. Any ideas?:confused:

I can't find linux drivers for the NIC or sound.
It's likely that your RedHat installation already knows about your NIC. Try the following command: cat /proc/interrupts and see if the output includes an entry for eth0. If so, this is your NIC, and it's likely that it's being recognized but just needs to be configured. Configuration is a matter of setting up dhcp (if you are using dynamic IP addresses) or assigning a static IP. I believe RedHat provides scripts that can help with this.

You usually have to reconfigure your kernel to support your sound card, especially if you are using an older or more exotic sound card. Reconfiguring the kernel is not difficult but can be intimidating if you've never done it before. Since you are using on-board sound, you may need to initialize with the (usually, Windoze) drivers supplied with your motherboard, and then boot linux. This means that you will need to set up your system to use loadlin, so that you will boot into Windoze (so everything is initialized, and then run loadlin to boot into Linux). Only experimenting can tell you if Linux will recognize your on-board sound directly.