1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Just installed new mobo, stuck on "launch startup repair"

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Ediat, Dec 27, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ediat

    Ediat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    i just installed a new motherboard, and when I boot up my PC, it either gives me the option to: launch startup repair, or start windows normally

    When I start it normally it goes back to the same screen, and when I launch startup repair the bar fills out so it's full but then stays full and nothing happens.

    I have windows 7 ultimate 64 and I will share my PC specs if it's nescessary, but it's fairly fast and new so I don't think it's hardware

    Cheers I hope to hear back soon
     
  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,505
    First Name:
    Frank
    If you installed a new motherboard in your computer (which you didn't describe), you need to install the Windows 7 operating system afterwards in the hard drive.

    If the hard drive already contains a Windows operating system, it's not going to boot and work properly.

    You may also have a Windows activation issue.

    --------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. Ediat

    Ediat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Mobo: ASRock 970A-G/3.1

    You will hate me for saying this and I don't expect any more help, but I installed windows 7 with USB originally and I received the "windows is not genuine" message. I tried everything but nothing worked so I just downloaded a key activator online and is seemed to work.

    It probably is the problem, I know it's a lot to ask but can you still help?
     
  4. Ediat

    Ediat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    I have started it in safe mode and land know configuration, and it still goes back
     
  5. Ediat

    Ediat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    *last known
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    78,505
    First Name:
    Frank
    I appreciate your honesty about the non-genuine and hacked condition of your Windows 7 operating system.
    Unfortunately, we don't provide any help here for that issue.
    ASRock 970A-G/3.1 Motherboard
    (support and driver downloads site)

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,854
    First Name:
    Rob
    Sorry, we cannot help if you are using an illegal installation of Windows. Buying a legitimate Windows license and doing a full reinstall should fix your problems.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1182960

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice