Just installed new mobo, stuck on "launch startup repair"

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ediat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
4
i just installed a new motherboard, and when I boot up my PC, it either gives me the option to: launch startup repair, or start windows normally

When I start it normally it goes back to the same screen, and when I launch startup repair the bar fills out so it's full but then stays full and nothing happens.

I have windows 7 ultimate 64 and I will share my PC specs if it's nescessary, but it's fairly fast and new so I don't think it's hardware

Cheers I hope to hear back soon
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,590
If you installed a new motherboard in your computer (which you didn't describe), you need to install the Windows 7 operating system afterwards in the hard drive.

If the hard drive already contains a Windows operating system, it's not going to boot and work properly.

You may also have a Windows activation issue.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 

Ediat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
4
Mobo: ASRock 970A-G/3.1

You will hate me for saying this and I don't expect any more help, but I installed windows 7 with USB originally and I received the "windows is not genuine" message. I tried everything but nothing worked so I just downloaded a key activator online and is seemed to work.

It probably is the problem, I know it's a lot to ask but can you still help?
 

Ediat

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 27, 2016
Messages
4
I have started it in safe mode and land know configuration, and it still goes back
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
81,590
I installed windows 7 with USB originally and I received the "windows is not genuine" message. I tried everything but nothing worked so I just downloaded a key activator online and is seemed to work.
I appreciate your honesty about the non-genuine and hacked condition of your Windows 7 operating system.
Unfortunately, we don't provide any help here for that issue.
Mobo: ASRock 970A-G/3.1
ASRock 970A-G/3.1 Motherboard
(support and driver downloads site)

---------------------------------------------------------------
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Sorry, we cannot help if you are using an illegal installation of Windows. Buying a legitimate Windows license and doing a full reinstall should fix your problems.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top