just put my computer back together, wont start up

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
i just installed liquid cooling into my case and all i have hooked up are the motherboard and the pump (and the power switch :p). It starts for 2 seconds and then shuts down. I havea cooling block on my nortbridge and GPU as wel if that makes any difference i dont know if maybe the computer will emergency shutdown if the northbridge block isnt centered right but i thought that would probably happen after POST and its just shutting down right away. So whats the deal? what causes a computer to shut down pre-POST that i might have overlooked?
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2006
Messages
175
what mobo do you have? it might not start up if there is no fan detected on the cpu fan header
 

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
is posted in my comment, and i plugged in the plug to the CPU slot, i also took off the waterblocks and put the heatsinks back on it still messes up.
 
Joined
Nov 30, 2006
Messages
279
Once I had a pinched water pipe that caused the shutdown but I could still post longer then 2 sec. If you really can't get anything to work even with the old heat sink on I guess I would start from the bottem and test the bundle outside the case.
 

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
yeah i tried sticking on the stock heatsink for the proc and northbridge but no joy :( i also tested another PSU i had running perviously in that machine
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,471
I am assuming you pulled the board to do this install.

Remove everything from the case and attempt a post outside of the case. If it works now, you know you have a mounting problem. Go back and recheck the mounting of the board.

If it does not post outside of the case, you will need to swap parts with known good ones to troubleshoot ie power supply, motherboard, ram, and video card.
 

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
tried the PSU, im gessing most likely the motherboard or the CPU seeing as the most likely thing that happened would be either of them burnt out due to poor waterblock mounting. This is what i had assumed from the beggining but had put aside in my mind due to the lengthy and boreing process of shipping and receiving returns, i would think, though, that the motherboard would shut down automatically if overheating, why would it allow itself to burn out? any ideas? also any other ideas as to what the exact problem is?
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,471
You are not going to find the problem unless you test in a systematic way as outlined above. That is really the only way to find out the cause of the problem. No one can tell you "That" is the problem.

It is difficult at best when the system is in front of me; over the internet.........
 

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
i dont really have a replacment CPU to test with, could a notherbpoard burn out by not having the heatsinks on though? i thought that kind of thing was preventable by the motherboard
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,471
Burnout? No however it is very possible for you to have damaged the board during the install of your water cooling. A simple slip with a screwdriver and you can break a solder trace OR hitting a cap, voltage regulator, etc will damage the board.
This is why you need to pull everything out of the case and attempt a post outside of the case. In this config, you have only the board, cpu, ram, video card, and power supply. If it does not post, you start replacing parts until you find what has failed.
 

dashdanw

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 14, 2006
Messages
358
yeah, then i think i know exactly when i might have nicked something that would explain the problem, while installing the NB waterblock i had to use pliers to screw a nut onto a screw coming from the back of the board through the mounting hole and while twisting i slipped and, with downward force, i slid the damn thing over the very wide processor>northbridge bus and hit some capacitors on the other side, not to mention in some positions with installing the processor i unfortunately bent the capacitors back and forth trying to get into the positions i needed. i did an out of case test which resulted in changing the problem even after i put it back in the case, now it just gives me the "no ram" beep (three short beeps). Im thinking most defenitely the motherboard if it isnt possible or likely i burnt out the proc or the NB
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top