1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Just Unreal

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Deb123, Jul 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Deb123

    Deb123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Well I won't take up to much of my or your time telling you my opinion of Vista and HP but
    needless to say I have been in computer hell for some time now.
    Short version- About a month ago got a new HP with Vista premium- had problems
    that finally got fixed and now the current one is that I got a new printer about a week ago that
    I have never been able to get installed right and it is also a HP.
    After about 5 calls to Bellsouth and HP and not being able to talk to anyone that
    speaks clear English (which is a rant that I could take up pages on) I finally due
    to that and time decided to just email HP and have had numerous emails going
    for the last 2 days.
    To get to the problem and question- Regarding the printer install.
    My printer is a 6310 hp all in one and it came with a cd that said for Windows Vista
    and after taking hours trying to explain to hp that I didn't think I needed to download
    drivers since I had that and that I believe it is due to trying to connect using Ethernet.
    There was 2 options to connect using Ethernet or usb and I chose ethernet. Talked to Bellsouth
    as have dsl and they said yes the thing on my desk is a router and should be able
    to connect using it. The instructions appear easy that came with the printer-just plug
    in back of the router and then to the printer and then use the cd wizard. However,
    when I get to the end of the wizard it says "Network printer not found" and a option
    to put in a ip address- so I have been trying to find out for days from hp what the
    problem is.
    Finally after days telling hp I didn't think it had anything to do with drivers but the connection
    (or at least I wanted to eliminate that 1st) they then sent me instructions to
    test for connection issues which involved 2 steps. After doing the first one and it would
    not work, I did not go to step 2 so I emailed her back and now I have almost a book of
    instructions which I have barely looked at.
    Does anyone know what could be causing this? This should not be this complicated.

    Deb123

    Here is a copy of what they sent me do to yesterday that it would not work after trying
    step one. Won't copy those sent today.



    Step 1: Print a network configuration page

    Follow these steps to print a network configuration page from from the
    all-in-one:

    Press SETUP on the All-in-One then press 5 and then 1 and again press 1.

    If the page does not print, unplug the power cable from the back of the
    all-in-one, wait a few seconds and then plug it back in. Repeat the
    steps above to print the configuration page.

    Step 2: Scanning using the embedded Web server

    NOTE: Limited scanning functionality is possible in this way.
    For assistance installing or scanning, please contact an HP
    Jetdirect support agent.

    1. Open Microsoft Internet Explorer.
    2. Type the IP address of the print server, as taken from the
    configuration test page, into the address line of the browser and
    then press the ENTER key. The first time this is done a request to
    load a java script plug-in will appear. This plug-in is required.

    NOTE: Java must be installed on the computer. If you are using
    Windows XP, it may be necessary to obtain Java by
    downloading it over the Internet.

    3. The Embedded Web server will appear. Select the Scan option to
    reveal the scanning portion of the software.
    4. A preview of the scan can be performed or a final version scanned
    and saved to the hard drive. Select the Scan Help link on the
    right side for assistance performing scans in this manner. It may
    be necessary to change the image format to view or save scans
    depending on the capabilities of the browser.

    I believe that the troubleshooting steps provided will help you to
    resolve the issue.
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    This appears to be strictly a printer issue, unless I'm missing something basic. It doesn't have anything to do with Vista. You're doing local operations on the printer, and they're failing. Return the printer.
     
  3. Deb123

    Deb123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    No I don't think there is anything wrong with the printer and it might not be
    a Vista issue, I now believe it is a connection issue-trying to use Ethernet.
    The configuration page did print but it is not showing it is connected.
    Posted the question elsewhere.

    Deb123
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I only answered exactly what you wrote. You said step one failed, but you didn't mention anything about it actually just having the wrong content.

    You need to be specific if you want specific answers.

    How To Ask Questions The Smart Way
     
  5. Deb123

    Deb123 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    103
    Well I am pretty sure I made it clear that it said "Network printer not found"
    which even though I wasn't sure and am still not that it is the connection,
    that was my whole purpose to try to find out what it was or I would not of
    wrote at all.
    But I do have someone else on another thread assisting me, so thank ya
    anyway.

    Deb123
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    In the future, please do NOT start multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/594916

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice