Just won't Boot!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Skin1301

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
94
Hi All.
I have recently changed the case on my grandads computer for him, and I cant seem to get the computer to boot properly since.
Here goes, The comp WAS running Vista but I didnt like it so while the comp wasnt booting anyways I've done a clean install and gone back to XP.
So to cut it short, I now have 3 Hard Drives, 1x 40GB for the System (Totally empty apart from XP system files), 1x 80GB for my stuff (general Photos etc) and 1x 200GB SATA for General storage etc (Totally empty).
I've reinstalled the system and deleted and created a new partition for the 200GB HD, computer boots, I download drivers for the motherboard and the graphics card from their specific websites go to reboot and......
Yep you guessed it, it boots until the windows screen where the little green loading thing goes across for about 4 secs then screen goes black and stays like that till I switch it off! Help!

Spec:
OS : Windows XP Pro SP2

40 Gb (Master)
80 Gb (Slave)
SATA 200 Gb (Slave)

Graphics : Radeon 256 Mb X800GT PciExpress
Motherboard : Asus SLI - A8N32
Ram : 1.5 Gb
Processor : Amd Athlon 64 Processor 3800+

Any help would be greatly appreciated .
Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2005
Messages
17
Can you boot into safemode? You do this by pressing F8 while Windows is booting up.
 

Skin1301

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
94
Not Sure? F8 gives me the boot screen but my options are only to choose either one of my HD's or CD's or Legacy Lan, safemode isnt an option on that menu. It must be a different key but i'm not sure what that key is? any ideas?
 

Skin1301

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
94
Ok scratch all that...

Now the comp doesnt make to the windows screen, I just get a message saying "NTLDR is missing, Press Ctrl + Alt + Del to Restart"
Anyone know what that means?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2006
Messages
1,182
What happens when you put the XP cd in? does it give you the option to install? did you format the hard drive before you went back to xp?
I would format then reinstall XP
 

Skin1301

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 10, 2004
Messages
94
I reformatted everything then reinstalled xp, done this twice so far not sure a third time will make any difference, i'll give it a go though. cheers.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top