1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

K7s5a Pro Motherboard..

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by f-16, Feb 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. f-16

    f-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Hello all...

    I wonder if anyone can help me with this. I have a K7S5A PRO (Socket A) board.The booklet that came with it (Page 12) says that the board can handle UP TO ATHLON XP 2600+ FSB 266.

    However I also have a specs sheet that someone gave me that says that maximum processor speed is 2.8GHZ (XP2800).

    I would like to put in a XP2800 chip. But I'm not sure if the board can handle it. Yes I do have a fan, and a 250Watt PSU.

    I also have a CPU fan for XP2700+.

    My question is, Can I install a XP2800 (2.8GHZ) cip? Can the board handle it?

    Thansk for your help and advice.
     
  2. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    There are an assortment of XP 2800+'s out there, but none of them are 2.8GHZ chips. So double check what you are reading. At the manufacturer's web site the top CPU listed as supported is a 2600+.
     
  3. f-16

    f-16 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Oh ok I see. So you are saying that the highest processor is xp2600?

    What is this chip?
    AMD Athlon XP 2800+ Barton 2.08Ghz 333MHZ FSB 512 Cache processor.

    And what size is a XP2600 chip?
     
  4. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    You may know this, but AMD names their chips to indicate what they feel is their "equivalent" clock speed. For example the chip you mentioned (XP 2800+) has a clock speed of 2.08GHZ, but AMD believes that it is equivalent to a chip that runs at a speed of 2.8, so they call it a 2800.

    You mentioned 2.8GHz in your first post did you mean 2.08?
     
  5. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    I think that motherboard only supports 266 fsb.

    edit : Whoops thats memory
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/327846

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice