1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

kazaa

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by lizz1147, Jan 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lizz1147

    lizz1147 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    I love using Kazaa! Myquestion is: I am getting a new computer and I want all my Kazaa downloads to be on the new one. mu current computer's recording is bad adn i cant record what i've already downloaded. Do I just call up Kazaa (with my username and password) on my new computer and all my same down loads will be there??? or do I have to bu???y some sort of software that i can't afford to save my downloads
     
  2. $teve

    $teve

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    9,396
    welcome to T.S.G lizz.

    do you mean you want to save the "my shared folder"?
    all your partly downloaded files are in your computer.
    you need to back them up somehow.
    if you cant burn them to disk you will be able to take out your existing hard drive and hook it up as a slave in your new computer.
    if you need info on how to do that just ask.

    also.....kazaa is bundled with spyware.....you should go with kazaalite,that is exactly the same,look and feel but with the spyware taken out.
    ;)
     
  3. pakiya

    pakiya

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2001
    Messages:
    615
    if u mean to transfer stuff from your old computer to your new computer , the no , choosin the same username won't work , u will have to do it manually , one way to do it is put the hdd from your old computer in new comp and transfer , or if u got a cdwriter u can record it on cds


    the stuff on your old comp is in programfiles\kazaa\my shared folder


    -------------


    kazaalite for your new comp

    http://doa2.host.sk/
     
  4. jghost5

    jghost5

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    220
    Or use a null modem cable from printer port to printer port and share the folders. Then just copy them over. Wont work between XP and older OS's though.
     
  5. Mahmud603

    Mahmud603

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2002
    Messages:
    153
    As has been suggested by 2 of the replies you have received, connect your old hard drive as slave and copy the downloaded files to your new computer and your partially downloaded ones to your Shared Folder and you will not lose anything.

    Whilst the old drive is connected also copy any of your data files and other downloaded software to your new disk.

    However, do not try and transfer your old disk in its entirety as you are likely to also transfer problems. If an OS is already on the new computer leave it like that but do go to Microsoft Updates and download/install any missing ones.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/114286

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice