Keep battery unattached when laptop is connected to outlet?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Stephank

No issues. Just curious. I have been using laptops for many years. I usually keep them on kitchen island, computer desk or whatever. I keep them plugged, and batteries are attached. Naturally, the batteries are close to %100 full. Very rarely do I use them on deck or picnic table in my back yard. The battery provides enough power for few hours. I read it here or some other web site that batteries should be taken off when using only power cord. Is this true or made up story?
Just like I said, I have never had problems. What is the best thing to do?

Gr3iz

Mark
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Since the battery on most newer model laptops require removing several screws and the back cover in order to disconnect, it would seem the system manufacturers seem to think it should remain connected all the time.

Couriant

James
Maybe when the batteries were more detatchable but the battery technology has come a long way since. I don't think it's too much of an issue, just as long as you have good air flow

plodr

Liz
I just learned that for longer life, batteries should not be charged above 80%!!! It's too late for me to change because all our devices: two netbooks, two tablets, two phones and a Kindle have been charged to 100% from day 1 when they came in the house.
You should also let it drop to 20%.

I didn't believe this when I first read it so I went on a mission to discover if it is true. It is. <sigh>

managed

Allan
Liz, have you got any links to webpages that advise that 'not over 80%' idea ? Seems fishy to me.

Stephank

Thanks tor all the input. I didn't know new laptops required screw removal to take the battery off. I shouldn't worry too much, then.