1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

keep getting 'limited' connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ezza9000, Jan 22, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Hi all
    I recently brought a new acer aspire with windows 8, it connects to the router/internet fine except every 10-20 mins (sometimes less) or so I get disconnected, my wifi icon in the tray shows a yellow '!', when I look in the wifi charm (the side bar thing) 'limited' is next to my routers name, but in reality It doesn't seem to have any connectivity atall.

    Any help with this would be greatly appreciated,
    thanks in advance
     
  2. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    This is ipconfig when the connection was 'limited' (not responsive)

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
    (c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Ezza>ipconfig/all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : aarons-acer
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-44-33-5A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-94-23-44-33-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Netwo
    rk Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-44-33-59
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed78:27e7:fccd:7dbf%15(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 January 2013 17:54:26
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 January 2013 18:49:37
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 392729635
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-08-D4-FE-B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.122.23.22
    208.122.23.23
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WDS001
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:cf7:13f0:fd85:b98c(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cf7:13f0:fd85:b98c%17(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 570425344
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-08-D4-FE-B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Ezza>
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    You still have a good IP configuration, but that doesn't mean that there is actually any communication possible.

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

    Other than Windows Defender and the Windows firewall what security applications are, or ever were, on the system?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  4. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the reply, I have checked and all my drivers are up to date.

    I have 'Mcafee internet security suite'

    im now going to try the reset instructions,

    thanks again
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,562
    Uninstall McAfee and run the Removal Tool. You can reinstall it after testing.
     
  6. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Il try that now then, but what if it is mcafee?

    tried the reset's in command prompt, still disconnects
     
  7. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Ok, mcafee removed and ran removal tool,

    currently running bittorrent and streaming from youtube, so far so good

    I did have a current subscription with mcafee though :(
     
  8. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    No good

    It came up 'limited' again, (to fix this I have to disconnect and reconnect to the router)

    il re install mcafee
     
  9. ezza9000

    ezza9000 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    brilliant, my laptop came with a 3 month mcafee subscription already installed, now iv uninstalled it I have no username or password to continue the subscription (as it was already installed), so now I have to pay £30 prematurely for protection
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086428