keep getting 'limited' connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
Hi all
I recently brought a new acer aspire with windows 8, it connects to the router/internet fine except every 10-20 mins (sometimes less) or so I get disconnected, my wifi icon in the tray shows a yellow '!', when I look in the wifi charm (the side bar thing) 'limited' is next to my routers name, but in reality It doesn't seem to have any connectivity atall.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated,
thanks in advance
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
This is ipconfig when the connection was 'limited' (not responsive)

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.2.9200]
(c) 2012 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
C:\Users\Ezza>ipconfig/all
Windows IP Configuration
Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : aarons-acer
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home
Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-44-33-5A
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter Local Area Connection* 12:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Wi-Fi Direct Virtual Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 1A-94-23-44-33-59
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Wireless LAN adapter WiFi:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Qualcomm Atheros AR5BWB222 Wireless Netwo
rk Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-94-23-44-33-59
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::ed78:27e7:fccd:7dbf%15(Preferred)
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.4(Preferred)
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 21 January 2013 17:54:26
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 22 January 2013 18:49:37
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 392729635
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-08-D4-FE-B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 208.122.23.22
208.122.23.23
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
Ethernet adapter Ethernet:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : WDS001
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter isatap.Home:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 13:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:cf7:13f0:fd85:b98c(Prefe
rred)
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::cf7:13f0:fd85:b98c%17(Preferred)
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 570425344
DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-18-08-D4-FE-B8-88-E3-A5-9C-57
NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
C:\Users\Ezza>
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,761
You still have a good IP configuration, but that doesn't mean that there is actually any communication possible.

Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

Other than Windows Defender and the Windows firewall what security applications are, or ever were, on the system?

TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

Reboot the machine.
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
Thanks for the reply, I have checked and all my drivers are up to date.

I have 'Mcafee internet security suite'

im now going to try the reset instructions,

thanks again
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
Il try that now then, but what if it is mcafee?

tried the reset's in command prompt, still disconnects
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
Ok, mcafee removed and ran removal tool,

currently running bittorrent and streaming from youtube, so far so good

I did have a current subscription with mcafee though :(
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
No good

It came up 'limited' again, (to fix this I have to disconnect and reconnect to the router)

il re install mcafee
 

ezza9000

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 22, 2013
Messages
7
brilliant, my laptop came with a 3 month mcafee subscription already installed, now iv uninstalled it I have no username or password to continue the subscription (as it was already installed), so now I have to pay £30 prematurely for protection
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top