1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Kerio and Stealth??

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by RandyG, Sep 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. RandyG

    RandyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    I've been using Kerio's Personal firewall for a few months now, and after seeing joe2cool's link showing Steve Gibson updated his stealth checker, I went to see how I fared with Kerio. Well, after doing the full port scan, I found that I have only about 6 ports in stealth, and the rest closed.


    Does anyone know how to set Kerio ports to stealth?
     
  2. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
  3. RandyG

    RandyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    That basically said that the default settings out it in stealth.

    I decided that maybe I had tweaked it, and messed it up, so I uninstalled it and reinstalled it, and am now going to have fun allowing and disallowing all the myriad of things.

    I ran the GRC test again, and had same results.

    Maybe it's cause I'm on DSL, and I have a fixed IP address, and maybe it's not really testing my firewall??

    I dialed in on my backup 56k connection, and when I did grc test, I got all the pings, which I disallowed, and entire system showed stealth, of course!!

    I guess cause I'm on DSL then, with a fixed Ip address, that I am getting incorrect readings for tests.

    However, it shows what i wanted it to.

    thanx for the input puta!!;):D
     
  4. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    FYI Randy : I am Dsl as well and used only the default settings and according to the sygate scan all ports except 80 were stealthed.
     
  5. RandyG

    RandyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    I just tried the sygate stealth scan, and got the same results with my dsl, but only a few requests came through for my kerio to allow or disallow. Those I denied, and they came up blocked.

    Maybe I need a tutorial on how to use the d-link dsl 504 router's firewall.
     
  6. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
  7. RandyG

    RandyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2000
    Messages:
    7,762
    Yeah, browsing it now.



    You really using that only? Does it provide pop-ups when a new program attempts something? Or do you have to manually configure everything?
     
  8. mobo

    mobo

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,274
    Just configure it with tech suppport after purchasing it, then did the scan and came up excellent and never get prompted. I was able to tweak it a little as well but it can be very intimidating so I called the free dlink tech line and it took about four ot five minutes and voila.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/163393

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice