1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Kernal_Stack/Data_In_Page_Error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lieutenantfrost, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lieutenantfrost

lieutenantfrost Thread Starter

I just built my own system for the first time last week and all seemed to be running well until I started getting a BSOD at random intervals, The first was while I was running a defrag. This is my first attempt at debugging a problem like this, so my experience is quite limited.

- Just Build new system, all parts out of the box save for 2 hard drives running on an IDE cable
    - Fresh install of win XP
    - I have run Chkdsk on both my hard drives and they show no errors
    - I have checked both drives with the manufacture diagnostic software and both passed with no errors
    - I have fun memtest after 15 passes no errors were shown.

- I have changed my Write debugging information settings to Kernel Memory Dump.
    However in my last 3 Blue screens no .dmp file has been created. it is my understanding that once created it would be found in windows/system32/memory dump correct?

I have treid a basic windows search using .dmp but it has yeilded no results. with the exception of the Dr Watson .dmp

Im not sure what my next step is now.

The two BSODs I seem to get are

Kernal_Data_In_Page_Error

Stop 0x0000007A (0xC05d38C0, 0xC000000E, 0XBA718384, 0x179E0860)

*** Atapi.sys addresss BA718384 Base at BA70B000 Date stamp 41107B4D

Beginning Dump of Physical Memory

AND

Kernel_Stack_In_Page_Error

Stop 0x00000077 (0x0000000E, 0xc000000E, 0x00000000, 0x0132F000)

This is from the system log file in the event viewer, it was the last error listed after my reboot. There was no error listed under the application Tab.

Event Type: Error