1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

kernel compiling

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by tsunam, Apr 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tsunam

    tsunam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Now this is no doubt silly but I'll admit i've never recompiled a kernel ^.^;;.

    The question I have is that for it to load the kdm manager etc for kde do i need to do anything special, since when i did a 2.4 i lost my kde login..so does it take a basic change or did i screw up somewhere?
     
  2. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Essentially there needs to be a special script in /etc/init.d (which is linked to a script in /etc/rcN.d/ (n being your graphic runlevel)) that starts kdm on boot.

    BTW, thats from init.d to rcN.d

    Could be as simple as having changed to the wrong default initlevel. Check /etc/inittab.

    And, kernel compiling, read the Kernel-HOWTO at TLDP. <tldp.org>
     
  3. tsunam

    tsunam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Okie i think i might have found the reason, why it might not be loading um the manager visually. its not able to load my nvidia drivers... O_O has me even more perplexed. I've added it to module support and that hasn't done anything. :(
     
  4. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    *oh god almighty, help us avoid another nvidia royal frig up....*

    *sigh*
    Ok, here we go again.
    What does the log say (/var/log/kdm?)

    Can you start x manualy (using startx?)

    Did you actually recompile your kernel? It soulds like you may have just enabled the options, but not recompiled.
     
  5. tsunam

    tsunam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    no go on manual start with startx, it goes to load it up (black screen to what would be the xfree login) then it goes back to the command line

    XFree86 Version 4.3.0.1
    Release Date: 15 August 2003
    X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0, Release 6.6
    Build Operating System: Linux 2.4.22-gentoo-r7 i686 [ELF]
    Build Date: 04 March 2004
    Before reporting problems, check http://www.XFree86.Org/
    to make sure that you have the latest version.
    Module Loader present
    Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
    (++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
    (WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
    (==) Log file: "/var/log/XFree86.0.log", Time: Sun Apr 4 16:27:19 2004
    (==) Using config file: "/etc/X11/XF86Config"
    NV: could not open control device /dev/nvidiactl (No such device)
    (EE) NVIDIA(0): Failed to initialize the NVIDIA kernel module!
    (EE) NVIDIA(0): *** Aborting ***
    (EE) Screen(s) found, but none have a usable configuration.

    Fatal server error:
    no screens found

    there's the log. Oddly it says the old kernel at the top instead of the current one but that's the error message.

    And alothough i havent done a kernel complie, I do know that i did my make dep && make (name) modules_install, and make && make modules_install
     
  6. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    Hmm.... First off, try starting X with the "vesa" driver, instead of the nvidia. That at least, will get you into X (Barring more problems).

    Next, how did you do the nvidia driver install (RPM, or does gentoo have an installer/portage port)?
     
  7. tsunam

    tsunam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    portage :) ie source install

    logged in within vesa...

    who wants to bet whites suggestion will be to remove nvidia reinstall and retry with it in there?
     
  8. tsunam

    tsunam Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,240
    Oddly enough reinstalling nvidia drivers fixed the issue ^.^;;. Strangeness though.
     
  9. Whiteskin

    Whiteskin

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,964
    *Phew*

    This could have gotten Ugly
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217068

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice