Keyboard and Mouse unresponsive after driver error

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TomW123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
4
Hi, I'm currently using the following pc;
HP Compaq Elite 8300
OS: windows 10 64 bit
Processor: i5-3570 3.4Ghz
Processor count : 4
RAM: 8 Gb
Graphics card : Nvidia Geforce gtx 1050 ti

I recently installed an emulator for a controller, which unfortunately tried to also install drivers for my keyboard and mouse. This was followed by an error and both the mouse and keyboard stopped working. Lights still work and I can access the BIOS menu but cannot figure out a way to access my pc to reinstall the drivers since I obviously can't log into my account.
Is there a way I can open in safe mode or manually restrict the computer to using default drivers for the devices?
Any help is appreciated it's driving me insane
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
35
Would booting from the OEM Windows media work? If you have a bootable DVD/USB and it's accessible, would that mean your HDD is not being accessed and your keyboard/mouse should work?

I'm no expert, but just trying to help because I know the feeling...
 

TomW123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
4
I don't actually have a bootable dvd/usb but I've seen that mentioned on a lot of other forums. Can I use another computer to create one?
I appreciate the help either way, it's been a few days now and it's infuriating when you know the issue but not the method to fix it.
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
35
I don't actually have a bootable dvd/usb but I've seen that mentioned on a lot of other forums. Can I use another computer to create one?
I appreciate the help either way, it's been a few days now and it's infuriating when you know the issue but not the method to fix it.
You can make one using the Windows Media Creation Tool at the MS site
 

TomW123

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 15, 2018
Messages
4
Hi, unfortunately you're correct, f8 is apparently redundant on this version, however I might be able to use the command prompt option listed on that Web page. Thanks for the suggestion
 
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
35
Hi, unfortunately you're correct, f8 is apparently redundant on this version, however I might be able to use the command prompt option listed on that Web page. Thanks for the suggestion
Open Settings, in the search box type Start and select Change Advanced Startup Options. Click Restart Now under Advanced Startup.

This should allow you to access safe mode.

ETA: You can get to Bios/UEFI and select boot options there
 
Last edited:
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top