1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Keyboard Failure

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ozzdog, Nov 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ozzdog

    Ozzdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    hi.

    about 1 month ago my "a" key stopped working out of the blue. I tried to clean my keyboard, and accidentally broke the space bar (while not fixing the A key). I opted to buy a new keyboard. It came today, and installed easily.

    However, the new keyboard has many apparently defective keys (h, g, ', up arrow, fn, many of the F keys, print screen, etc...). This bothered me so I re-hooked my old keyboard, and planned to send the defective one back. When I reinstalled the old one, the Fn did not work (it did before).

    So I hear I am, tying this with a virtual keyboard with brightness on lowest level (apparently no way other than Fn+F5 to raise brightness), wondering what is wrong.

    Help!

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5450 @ 1.66GHz, x86 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 2045 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT, 512 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 152617 MB, Free - 14657 MB; E: Total - 1430796 MB, Free - 1301651 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0KY768
    Antivirus: None
     
  2. Ozzdog

    Ozzdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Fixed te backlite w/ BIOS (no |-| or JEE!)
     
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Is this a laptop? If it is, then you simply did not connect the new one well enough. If there is a ribbon connector, you need to make sure that all connections are made and secure or some keys won't work. The ribbon needs to be perfectly flat and clean.

    Since desktops rarely have Fn keys, I'm assuming it is a laptop. If not, you will need a special driver from the manufacturer to enable Fn keys, and possibly a keyboard from them, too.
     
  4. Ozzdog

    Ozzdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Yes, it is a laptop. I tried attatc|-|in6 it best i could. Ill try better! (weird words due to lack of keys, sorry!)
     
  5. brittanyt

    brittanyt

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    have you tried to uninstall keyboard in device manager and then reboot and let windows reinstall. I had this same problem on a dell laptop I replaced keyboard on and that worked.
     
  6. Ozzdog

    Ozzdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Did not work. Thanks though

    They appear to be all connected (just from looking, and not being able to push in any more). Still no luck.
     
  7. Ozzdog

    Ozzdog Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    faulty keyboard?
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025895

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice