1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Keyboard Malfunction

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pikle6, Oct 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. pikle6

pikle6 Thread Starter

hello everyone
    i am new to TSG and wanted help regarding my keyboard
    my specs are

intel q6600 2.4 ghz @ 3.0 ghz
    2 gb ddr2 ram
    asus p5n-mx mobo
    geforce 8400 se 512 mb
    logitech ultra flat keyboard
    logitech optical mouse
    windows vista 32 edition

recently after cleaning my keyboard i felt that a bit of water slipped in so i hairdryed it kept it overnight and connected it on my pc . i noticed that some of my keys were malfunctioning like when i tapped "a" it appeared "as" and
    s - as
    z - zx
    x - zx
    q - qw
    w - qw
    :confused::confused::confused:
    please help me i'm in great need of help :( as i cant buy another keyboard
    i have tried reinstalling drivers from device manager
    also should i upgrade my any of pc components to make it perform better in crysis warhead :):):)

2. pikle6

pikle6 Thread Starter

bump.

3. D X Mage

D X Mage

It is going to have to dry out a LONG time. Or you can get a different (cheap) keyboard. The reason being is that keyboards have layers of thin plastic and if water gets in there it can take months for it to dry out and even then it might not work properly. You might have to completely disassemble the keyboard and clean the layers with +90% pure isopropyl alcohol and let it dry. Then reassemble it and pray that it works correctly. This is not a fun job as it takes forever and there are zillions of little screws, or the even more unfun little plastic clips that break real easy when trying to pry it apart.

4. RogueSpear00

RogueSpear00