1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

keyboard mistyping

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by MODIfon, May 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MODIfon

    MODIfon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    My computer keyboard keeps mistyping. examples of this are shown below.
    5g 6h 5g 6h... when typin5g t6he g or H it comes up that way or numbers 5 or 6
     
  2. Wallenberg

    Wallenberg

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    512
    I suppose this may be too obvious. But are you using any text replacement apps ... such as "AutoHotkey" or "Shortkeys"?

    I use one of those but I was still caught off guard when it was my own script that caused problems that I failed to recognize.
     
  3. MODIfon

    MODIfon Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I dont believe so... all of sudden stupped workin5g... and my keyboard doesn-'t 6have a number lock and ease of access reads en5glis6h... also restarted computer... stumped!!!
     
  4. Wallenberg

    Wallenberg

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    512
    OK. Well, don't give up just yet. I would recommend that you download the Tech Suport Guy's free application SYSINFO.EXE which Tech Support Guy offers to everyone here for free.
    When you run that app, it will produce a file that contains the info of the important components of your system. Then you can cut and paste that info into a post in this thread so that everyone can see exactly what the components are that make up your PC system. In that way, some of the more knowledgeable people here will have a better chance to make some recommendations to you. At least they will be "informed" recommendations.

    Try the following link and it should download an app called "Sysinfo.exe" for you.

    http://static.techguy.org/download/SysInfo.exe


    In case you have never done that before, it should put that app into your "Downloads" folder. That may be named "C:\USERS\ ... \DOWNLOADS.

    You will have to substitute something for the three dots above ("..."). It may be the "user name" on your PC. I'm not sure what your PC may have chosen as your user name. But give it your best guess. You should be able to find it by searching for the file "sysinfo.exe" or something close to that.

    P.S. To anyone else, I'd sure appreciate use some in help in finding out just how to download that file. I've done it once and I figured out how to do it very easily. But, for some reason, although I found it once on this site, I just can't seem to find it now. So embarrassing. I was hoping that when I clicked on "HELP", I would have seen a link that would have been kind of obvious. But no such luck. I must be getting old. Sigh.

    Can someone please tell me where I can find it on this site?

    As I recall, I originally found it by going to "Help" and I remember it was very clear how to D/L it from there. But today, I just can see it anywhere and I'd sure appreciate some info on just where it is?
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2018
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1209814

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice