1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Keyboard not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Cobster, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cobster

    Cobster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    My computer is having a problem with the keyboard.
    it was working perfectly until this morning. When I turned it on I could not use the keyboard (PS/2) to log into my user name so thus have been locked out since then.
    I tried re-booting, changing keyboards (both PS/2 and USB - both new) to no avail.
    On re-boot I am able to use the keyboard's arrows to scroll into " Last good configuration that worked" but that hasn't helped either.
    Not sure how to proceed from here.
    This is a Compaq Presario 1010 Z with Windows XP installed.
    Thanks for you help.
     
  2. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    try a cmos reset
     
  3. Cobster

    Cobster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Not familiar with what a CMOS reset is.
    Can you explain please
    Thanks
     
  4. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    cmos reset
    turn the computer off
    remove the power lead from the back
    take the side off
    remove the cmos battery
    move the cmos jumper from pins 1 and 2 to pin 2 and 3 and the back to pins 1 and 2
    reinsert the battery
    put the side on
    replug in the power lead
    boot the computer
     
  5. Cobster

    Cobster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Thanks for the detailed explanation.
    Is this like a Bios reset? could it be done during the re-boot process instead of opening up the box?
    Also, will this affect existing peripherals drivers like printers, monitors etc.
    Appreciate your help
     
  6. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    no it is the only way to do it
     
  7. Cobster

    Cobster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    Thanks
    Will try it then and hope for the best.
    I will advise once done
    Thanks again for your help
     
  8. Cobster

    Cobster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    86
    I am trying to do it now..located and removed the battery but can't find the jumper cable to move from pin 1-2 to pin 2-3
    any idea?
    thanks again
     
  9. dai

    dai

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,198
    there can be 2 solder points you touch with a screwdriver
    2 pins you touch with a screwdriver or use a jumper
    a cmos clear switch or button
    there will be a diagram and instructions in your manual
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1086610

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice