Keyboard not working

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Cobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
86
My computer is having a problem with the keyboard.
it was working perfectly until this morning. When I turned it on I could not use the keyboard (PS/2) to log into my user name so thus have been locked out since then.
I tried re-booting, changing keyboards (both PS/2 and USB - both new) to no avail.
On re-boot I am able to use the keyboard's arrows to scroll into " Last good configuration that worked" but that hasn't helped either.
Not sure how to proceed from here.
This is a Compaq Presario 1010 Z with Windows XP installed.
Thanks for you help.
 

Cobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
86
Not familiar with what a CMOS reset is.
Can you explain please
Thanks
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
cmos reset
turn the computer off
remove the power lead from the back
take the side off
remove the cmos battery
move the cmos jumper from pins 1 and 2 to pin 2 and 3 and the back to pins 1 and 2
reinsert the battery
put the side on
replug in the power lead
boot the computer
 

Cobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
86
Thanks for the detailed explanation.
Is this like a Bios reset? could it be done during the re-boot process instead of opening up the box?
Also, will this affect existing peripherals drivers like printers, monitors etc.
Appreciate your help
 

Cobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
86
Thanks
Will try it then and hope for the best.
I will advise once done
Thanks again for your help
 

Cobster

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
86
I am trying to do it now..located and removed the battery but can't find the jumper cable to move from pin 1-2 to pin 2-3
any idea?
thanks again
 

dai

Joined
Mar 6, 2003
Messages
11,198
there can be 2 solder points you touch with a screwdriver
2 pins you touch with a screwdriver or use a jumper
a cmos clear switch or button
there will be a diagram and instructions in your manual
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top