keyboard

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ziecore

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
8
hi all:: im new here:: and as you can see i got a keyboard problem:: i got a acer laptop with this "Fn" button:: and i think i did something wrong i dont know what:: when i started my computer i couldnt type in my password:: so after trying for a while i noticed that if i hold in shift it works:: so i pressed capslock and held down shift to type my password and i got in:: but now i have to hold in shift every time i want to write something:: its like "slow keys" are on but not accualy on you know? i tried everything and i cant get rid of it! plz help
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2006
Messages
550
I don't know if a "hot key" sequence may have been activated inadvertedly - you can spend the rest of your weekend trying to figure that out.

If you don't have any keyboard problems when typing in a DOS invironment, it's likely a Widnows problem.

I would go to device manager, find that keyboard, right-click on it and select uninstall then reboot.

Windows should find the device on boot up and re-install it.

Keep us posted...

:cool:
 

ziecore

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
8
um:: can you be more specific please:: im not so good at english and i dont know where to find device manager
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Right click on My Computer and go to Properties. Select the Hardware tab. You should see the device manager then.

Find Keyboards, expand the menu, then right click on your keyboard, and select uninstall.

Then just reboot. It will likely come back online at standard factory settings then.
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
75
check your scroll lock. This sometimes occurs with laptops with functions keys. If the scroll lock is on, it sometimes locks the function key to being on
 

ziecore

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
8
Nope.. i have checked all of that.. but im gonna try what idowindows suggested.. and see if it works.. ill keep you posted
 

ziecore

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
8
ok.. now i have done that.. but there is no change what so ever.. any other suggestions please?
 
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Messages
75
your best bet for finding inadvertently activated hotkeys is control panel -> accessibility options... or control panel->keyboard... of course every computer is different, especially OEM O/S installs so they could prove false...

Also, check to make sure you have the right keyboard layout selected while in the keyboard controller of the control panel.

Have you checked your bios? maybe its a bios setting...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top