Keylogger?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Live_Wire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
11
there is an advanced keylogger on my laptop for the second time showing up as adware under a lavasoft folder. a)how did it get past my hardware and software firewalls? and b)this is the second time my privacy has been invaded and i want to report this. any suggestions?
 

Live_Wire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
11
C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6. i believe it is the 'prefs' notepad file; it mentions something about a log in there, but not much.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2005
Messages
1,254
The file "prefs.ini" is automatically created by Ad-Aware on the first use. It will be automatically modified every time you change the program's settings or do a new scan.

Asuming prefs.ini is the file your concerned about
If adaware itself is picking it up as a keylogger it means 1 of 2 things. Either Ad-Aware is broken and dosnt recognise its own files or the original prefs.ini was replaced or infected with a keylogger.

You could repair ad-aware by reinstalling it and then run a scan to see if it comes up again.

Before doing this though can you make sure that you have given us the right file name.
 

Live_Wire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
11
i wasn't aware that adaware was an ANTI-adware program. i know for sure i didn't install it. i have checked all the other files in the folder McAfee designated as Potentially Unwanted, and still believe strongly that is the correct file. here is what is in the prefs file:

[Custom]
SkipKb=4096
AWmode=1
LastScanMode=0

[EngineStats]
lastDeepScn=1
ObjectsRemoved=0
scanstotal=0
lastscan=-

[UserPrefChain]
c0=1
c1=1
c2=0
c3=0
c4=1
c5=1
c6=1
c7=0
c8=0
c9=0
c10=0
c11=1
c12=1
c13=0
c14=1
c15=0
c16=0
c17=0
c18=0
c19=0
c20=0
c21=0
c22=0
c23=0
c24=0
c25=0
c26=1
c27=1
c28=1
c29=1
c30=0
c31=0
c32=0
c33=0

[UserPrefChainEx]
c0=0
c1=1
c2=0
c3=0
c4=0
c5=0
c6=1
c7=0
c8=0
c9=0
c10=0
c11=1
c12=0
c13=0
c14=1
c15=1
c16=0
c17=0
c18=0
c19=0
c20=0
c21=0
c22=0
c23=1
c24=1
c25=0
c26=0
c27=0
c28=0
c29=1
c30=0
c31=0
c32=0
c33=0
c34=0
c35=1
c36=0
c37=0
c38=0
c39=1
c40=0

[StartupPrefs]
Mode=0
DoAutoClean=0
DoAutoClose=0
DoMinimizeAW=1
DoAutoBlockAW=0

[WebUpdate]
Doproxy=0
ProxyAddr=127.0.0.1
ProxyPort=8080

[Paths]
logfilepath=C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\Logs
RHpath=
langfile=C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\Lang\(English Default).ini
Wavefile=C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\alert.wav
Reffile=C:\Program Files\Lavasoft\Ad-aware 6\reflist.ref
ScanPaths=C:
SingleScanPaths=
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, That is simply the Ad-Aware 6.0 program, not a keylogger.

That version is way outdated we are using the free or pay-for version of Ad-Aware SE Personal edition now.

You should uninstall AAW 6.0 and get the newer version. If you have already, these are just leftover folders from the old copy. Check in your Add/Remove programs list and uninstall the 6.0 one. It may not be there.

http://majorgeeks.com/Ad-Aware_SE_Personal_d506.html

When you install the new one, it checks for any old versions and should prompt to remove them for you. You should.
 

Live_Wire

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 2, 2006
Messages
11
ok so why is advanced_keylog still showing up in McAfee under the same folder?
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, Might be a false positive. It may also be something that was found, and is quarantined. Sometimes, other scanners find the detections that a program, for instance Ad-Aware, is capable of finding and detect that as malware. The engine a program uses is also seen as malware to online antivirus scans... some of the tools we use on a daily basis are detected as potentially harmful scripts by Norton A/V...the list goes on.

If no other program or scan finds anything, this may simply be a false detection.

Spybot Search and Destroy is pretty good at finding keyloggers, do you have it installed?

http://majorgeeks.com/SpyBot-Search_&_Destroy_d2471.html



Scan with Ad=Aware SE personal edition, too. Let us know if they find anything.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top