1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Keys messed up in DOS

Discussion in 'DOS/Other' started by LordLastDay, Feb 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LordLastDay

    LordLastDay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, I admit that the title is kinda bad.


    My problem is that I live in finland, thus using a Finnish keyboard... and something has made my DOS think that I have american keyboard, I suppose.

    For example when I type รถ (o with dots on it) it makes ":"
    Other special keys are messed up too, I think this happened when I updated something for windows... most likely it replaced a file with wrong langue version.

    The weird thing is that all keys work correctly anywhere except DOS (or the command prompt that is using DOS)

    Sorry for typos, I don't speak, or should I say type perfect english. :)
     
  2. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Have a look in Config.sys and Autoexec.bat. You may find a Keyboard command and a Code page mentioned. The code page may well be 437(US English). You need to change them to the correct settings.
    Keyboard su
    Code page=850
    Country Code 358

    see: http://www.oldfiles.org.uk/powerload/codepage.htm
     
  3. LordLastDay

    LordLastDay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    This is what it had inside...

    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\HIMEM.SYS
    DEVICE=C:\WINDOWS\EMM386.EXE
    device=C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\display.sys con=(ega,,1)
    Country=358,850,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\country.sys

    The country codes are as you mentioned, though they are in a little different position. I have windows 98, maybe it causes them to be lined differently.

    To me it looks perfectly correct, I might be wrong though...

    thanks for trying to help anyway, I have no idea how windows understand all correctly but my DOS doesn't.
     
  4. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    You need the folowing in the Autoexec.bat

    mode con codepage prepare=((850) C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\ega.cpi)
    mode con codepage select=850
    keyb su,,C:\WINDOWS\COMMAND\keyboard.sys
     
  5. LordLastDay

    LordLastDay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    It worked!

    I'm too stupid to understand how/why it worked, as all I could understand is that autoexec is executed when computer restarts. (As it's name suggests)

    Thank you! :)
     
  6. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    The Config.sys and the Autoexec.bat are the files that were use in Dos for setting these things up. They are still used as models (if they were there when windows was set up)
    for Dos sessions.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/326367

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice