Kghostview

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dalani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
73
i am using Mandrake 10 and would like to view PDF files using Kghostview loaded in the Unix commands. Does anyone know how to use this via the console?

any help would be appreciated
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
I'm a little confused by
loaded in the UNIX commands
Do you mean how to start it from the command line?

Just
Code:
kghostview [i]filename[/i]
This is assumming your PATH variable is set correctly.
 

dalani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
73
I did use that syntax at the console; but instead of getting a view of the pdf file, I get lines of postscript text. So I think it's the command line switches that i'm missing.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
My guess it is the version or contents of the pdf file then.

Kghostview isn't as robust as some of the other pdf readers.

I generated a pdf using the PDF output of cups and used that syntax, and all I got was a blank page. I created the same page as a ps file and kghostview opened it fine.

It's a only at beta2 right now, but the new kpdf support in KDE 3.4 betas is amazing and opens everything I have throw at it and blazingly fast.

Can you use the older kdpf or acrobat reader in the mean time?
 

dalani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
73
ACROBAT FOR LINUX? I use that alot on windows where can I download the Mandrake10 rpm of acrobat reader? kpdf isn't loaded in my kde 3.2 but i'll look for that.

kde 3.4 I'm scared to even ask. I bet that would use up and tax all my cpu and mem on my PII.
 

Squashman

Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 4, 2003
Messages
19,786
dalani said:
ACROBAT FOR LINUX? .

You can download Acrobat Reader for Linux from Adobe's website. I dont know about an rpm but someone probably made one.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
dalani said:
ACROBAT FOR LINUX? I use that alot on windows where can I download the Mandrake10 rpm of acrobat reader? kpdf isn't loaded in my kde 3.2 but i'll look for that.

kde 3.4 I'm scared to even ask. I bet that would use up and tax all my cpu and mem on my PII.
You can get acrobat reader from the adobe web site. Instructions are included with it how to install. Just look for acrobat reader and select Linux as OS.

KDE 3.3 and 3.4 tend to be less resource intense than earlier KDEs.
Many people on lower spec machines noted dramatic increases with KDE 3.3.

I'm pretty sure Mandrake includes kpdf. Try this as root
Code:
urpmi kdegraphics-kpdf
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
I just open pdf docs with Konqueror. It's installed by default in MDK 10.1.
HTH
lynch
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
lynch said:
I just open pdf docs with Konqueror. It's installed by default in MDK 10.1.
HTH
lynch
Depending on how its is configured, konqueror just uses kpdf or kghostview. (Inline)
 

dalani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
73
Headrush said:
Depending on how its is configured, konqueror just uses kpdf or kghostview. (Inline)
is that so? I'm using MDk10 but i'll look into how konq. is configured for handling pdf files. Hopefully that should solve the problem. thanks
 

dalani

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
73
Here's the run down of pdf options on my MDK10 kde 3.2:

# urpmi kdegraphics-kpdf
no package named kdegraphics-kpdf

kghostview is loaded but no man pages for it.
if I knew the switches then Konq. can be configured to use it.

otherwise I will download Acrobat reader.....
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
In Konqueror: Settings Menu -> Configure Konqueror -> File Associations -> Application -> PDF

If kghostview is listed but not first, move it up in the order using up button.
If kghostview is not there, click add and add it.

I just checked Mandrake's site and kdegraphics-kdf is the right file name.
Could be your urpmi sources aren't configured right.

If you can mount your Mandrake CD, go to directory containing all the file ending in rpm. ( I think it is i586/RPMS)
And type
Code:
rpm -Uvh kdegraphics-kpdf-3.2.3-16mdk.i586.rpm
That should install it.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top