1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Killdisked my Hard Drive, Can't install OS. Please help!

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Plaidscreen, Apr 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Plaidscreen

Plaidscreen Thread Starter

Hi,
    I am over my head here and really need some help. I recently decided to reformat my hard drive, something I've never done before. So I backed up my data to CD, and my friend gave me a floppy with "Killdisk" on it, a program to wipe the hard drive. It took over 2 hours doing whatever it did to wipe the hard drive. Now I thought I would just put my Windows XP Pro cd in the cd drive and follow the prompts. But nothing is ever that easy! My computer tells me "Disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter" instead of starting up Windows XP pro. I don't know if it's related to this problem, but I am also getting told "Primary Channel: Drive not found. Secondary Channel: Drive not found". Help?

2. Couriant

Couriant Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    James
    your drives might not been partitioned yet. If the CD is not booting up, go into the BIOS and change the boot priority to where the CD-ROM is first. The CD should boot up and setup will begin. If the drives are clean and formatted, the computer should recognise that and will format it with NTFS or FAT32, whichever you choose.

3. Plaidscreen

Thanks Tidus,
    I will try setting it to cd first in Bios, but how would I know if the drives are clean and formatted? I'm not sure if I know what that means.

4. Plaidscreen

Ok,
    So i set the CD-Rom to first in Bios. But it did the same "Disk boot failure..." thing. Please help!

5. Couriant

Couriant Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    James