1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

killing floor hosted game connection issue (open routers)

Discussion in 'Games' started by turbow5, Jul 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. turbow5

    turbow5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    We both have sandbox disabled and open routers. We can connect on anything, even when its just us two of a multiplayer server. I googled it and they say stuff I have already tried.
    When we try to join each other it just says "connecting" and it will eventually time out. Any ideas?

    -Thanks in advance
     
  2. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Hi turborw5,

    Killing Floor is just one of those pain in the *** games that insists on not working from time-to-time. I've had trouble with the server browser numerous times.

    Also, have you ensured these ports are open:

    7707 UDP/IP (Game Port)
    7708 UDP/IP (Query Port)
    7717 UDP/IP (GameSpy Query Port)
    28852 TCP/IP and UDP (Allows your Server to Connect to the Master Server Browser)
    8075 TCP/IP (Port set via ListenPort that your WebAdmin will run on)
    20560 UDP/IP (Steam Port)

    Also, you'll find in the 'killingfloor.ini' file a line like this; 'ServerBehindNAT=False' set it to true and attempt once again.

    If your router has an option for UPnP try turning it on (if it isn't already) and testing.


    Also, have you purchased the game through Steam?
     
  3. turbow5

    turbow5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    Yes I have it though steam, and I have all the ports open and upnp was on already. The killingfloor.ini thin you suggested didn't do anything. He joins and it just says "connecting" forever.
     
  4. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Ok,

    Follow this link: Steam: MasterServers

    Follow the instructions as this has cleared up a lot of connectivity issues for a lot of people. It might even solve the issue with your server not appearing. Though anyone who wishes to connect to the server will need to do the same.

    Also, try using the Steam client, server tab to search out servers for Killing Floor. If you're a long time Steam user this shouldn't be too difficult but if you do have any questions about filtering out the servers, ask away..
     
  5. turbow5

    turbow5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    I did everything on that link and it just screwed up my servers. No servers were showing up and he still couldn't connect to me.

    This isn't a connection with nat,so what is keeping us from connecting?
     
  6. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    Did you try the Steam client to search for the server instead of the in-game browser?
     
  7. turbow5

    turbow5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    Yes, I have a question though. When you host game > dedicated and then killing floor min. How do you find that one in the server list? Also tried listen and I didn't find it either.
     
  8. Sick_Jargon

    Sick_Jargon

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    223
    The server is local to you, you should have no problems viewing it, providing you're looking in the correct place. If it isn't appearing then I'd say it's a problem with the game. There are many people on the Tripwire forums that have complained about the hosting of servers so my guess is that it's just never worked all that great.

    If I were you I'd stop getting tangled in it all and just join an empty server. It's likely people will join eventually but at least you're on the same server as the person you intend to play with. If you're really motivated in finding what's up, I'd check the TW forums..
     
  9. turbow5

    turbow5 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    490
    I wanted to host a server because my isp is having a few problems right now and 500 ping is a little unplayable, but you're right I'll look at TW forums.
    Thanks.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads
  1. kooshism
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    773
  2. ratty11
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    620
  3. associates
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    522
  4. bobocop
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    489
  5. YOYOMA
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    537
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1060096