1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Kindle Fire won't connect to wifi

Discussion in 'Other Mobile Devices' started by dogluver, Nov 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dogluver

dogluver Thread Starter

All my other devices connect, but a few days ago my Kindle will no longer connect. It say wifi is turned on, but won't connect to a network. I've put my password in a bunch of times, but nothing works. Please help! I really don't want to reboot my modem and router since I did this a few months ago.

Thanks so much!

2. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    I have no experience with whatever Kindle you have, but my remedy when my original Kindle Fire gets itself into that state is to shut it down (turn off) for a couple minutes. I've always then been able to reconnect it when turning it on.

If you can't spare the two minutes this takes I have no more suggestions if the above does not work for you.

3. dogluver

dogluver Thread Starter

Thanks for responding. I've tried shutting it off and then holding the power button for 25 seconds. That did nothing. I'm so frustrated since I have an laptop and Ipad that connect with no problem. I would love to hear about other things to try. Thanks so much!

4. TerryNet

TerryNet Moderator

First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure on the Kindle that you "forget" the network or delete the wireless profile or whatever you can do to make the Kindle think it never knew about the network. Then turn it off and unplug the router. Plug the router back in and let it settle. Then turn the Kindle back on and try again.