knoppix

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
hello am pretty new to linux i am currently running knoppix and i love it, i was wondering if i could use this alll of the time,as in not turning off.would this choice be bad for my cd rom drive or anything else,could i use this as my main os?
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
It would eventually wear out the cd drive-but that could take a while;)
Ultimately you're going to have to try one of three things:
1.Try to resize that XP partition as discussed in your other thread:)
2.Wipe the drive clean and reinstall XP and then Mandrake or Knoppix(yes,it can be installed to the hdd:D )
3.Get a second hdd and install Linux on it.
lynch
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Knoppix may not be the best choice for your main OS. It can be run off the hard drive but it is set up to use a ramdisk, and its a bit slow because it uses on the fly compression to get all 2 gigs of data on 1 CD-R.
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
is there anyway too save your desktop config with a cd-r,write things too my windows hdd or is there anything else like that i should know
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
You cant save to a CD-R.
And yes, you can write to the hard drive from Knoppix but most distros wont run on a windows Fat32 drive/partition.
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
ok say i wanted to download something from the net and i wanted to save it a windows folder via knoppix is this possible,if so how would i go about it
 

trevor1

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 3, 2002
Messages
310
ok i have this older ibm 4.3gb hdd just laying around, it is a model dhea-34330 e182115

8400cyl 16 heads 63sec/T
it has none of the cords and cables, i kinda thew them away....
im pretty sure it has Win Me on it but i dont care about keeping it on it?
is this in anyway useable to put in my pc, and have the winxp hdd
and this 4.3 gb (Hopefully) linux hdd in the same machine?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top