1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Kodak Picture Easy won't install right

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by Jimmy P, Jan 21, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    I am trying to reinstll Kodak Picture Easy 3.1 software after a crash. Something is missing from my OS but I don't know what. I get this strange screen after it installs.

    It worked fine before the crash.

    Any ideas?

    See attached .jpeg.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    This just looks like the Welcome Screen. You may have disabled it when you had it installed before.

    I see that there is a ? in the bottom righthand corner. If you press that does any options come up, about showing everytime the program starts?

    If you press Close by using the X and the top as you would normally close a window, does the program or just the screen shut down?

    Also, what version have you got?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Ths is the opening screen of the software. It used to have labels with all the icons. It's controls the software. When the software first opens I get an error box (See the attachment - Error Screen.jpg)

    The quetion mark opens the help file -- that looks normal. The Basis operating screen is the problem. When I click on any of the icons the file box tha comes up has outsized text. The close window Xs work.

    I feel something is missing in my OS.
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    You mentioned the Error Screen.jpg Which is that? The only attachment you have is pictureeasy screen.jpg

    Have you forgotten to load it up?

    eddie
     
  5. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    No, it cripples my Snagit. I just sez "Can't open the file" and an OK button
     
  6. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Okay

    When the system crashed, do you know what caused it? Have you tried uninstalling then reinstalling the software?

    eddie
     
  7. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    I feel there is something that I'm missing within my OS. It must need some sort of runtime software that Picture easy needs. My CD creator won't install AT ALL!

    I'm considering carefully saving all the stuff I want to save, like the Program Listing under Start, my e-mails, address book and such and reinstalling Windows 98. I don't want to upgrade to XP (don't like the stuff that Microsoft has built into it.)

    My son (a Lan-Man type) suggests that I get a new Hard Drive and add it, making my old one a slave, and do a clean install of 98.

    eddie5659 is that Bradford on Avon? We stayed about a week at the Priory Steps there in September, 1999. Beautiful town.

    Regards from Winchester (Virginia)

    Jimmy P
     
  8. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,114
    Hiya

    Have you run a virus scan to see if that caused the crash:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/housecall/start_corp.asp

    Also, lets see if you have any spyware. Go here and download AddAware www.lavasoftusa.com
    Install and run it, ensuring that Deep registry Scan is enabled. remove all except any references to Web3000 or new.net. if you're unsure, copy/paste the list here.

    Whilst you're there, download and install Refupdate to get the latest updates.

    Nope, Bradford in West Yorkshire, up in the North. Not a picturesce place, in fact we were on the world news for some riots in June last year. I love the place :(

    eddie
     
  9. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Eddie,

    I scan with McAfee every day, although it is acting very balky -- another result of my crash. The "crash," (not really) was that I downloaded an update of my video driver from Gateway and after I installed it my monitor went black, so in my panic I reinstalled the full Windows 98 that came w/ the computer and lost all kinds of stuff.

    I'll try your fix, although I'm considering getting a new Hard Drive and doing a clean install of Win 98 on that, making the old drive a slave. My son is a LanMan and is sending me a better (he sez) 98 with better librairies on it.

    I'm avoiding XP - don't like what MS has put in it.
     
  10. Jimmy P

    Jimmy P Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    OK Folks. Here's one for you. See if you can figure it out.

    I gave Picture Easy another click yesterday and the darn thing worked! The strange welcome screen was normal.

    I did nothing that should have fixed it. I didn't reinstall it. The only thing I did was to reinstall the Windows Resources Tools disk that came with my manual on Windows 98.

    The only thing I can figure out is that something that was on that disk (maybe a DLL or such) got into my system and provided something that was missing.

    THINGS DON'T FIX THEMSELVES!

    Well, that part of my problems solved.

    Any ideas?

    Thancks for all the help.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/65704

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice