krn_54

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

krn_54

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
4
I am ashamed to even ask this question but I know absolutely nothing about this as I have never had this happen to me. A friend, running 98, out of the blue, cannot get online. She is getting an error saying an illegal operation has occured. Is this a Microsoft problem?
 

krn_54

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
4
krn_54 said:
I am ashamed to even ask this question but I know absolutely nothing about this as I have never had this happen to me. A friend, running 98, out of the blue, cannot get online. She is getting an error saying an illegal operation has occured. Is this a Microsoft problem?
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
"Krn_54" - dont worry about the question no judgement here - no such thing as a silly question.

however, you do need to supply as much info as possible to help us - help you.

so try and supply the following info in order

when does this error occur
what application is she running
post as much detail from the error code as possible
post make/model of PC

how is the PC connected to internet - via a dial-ip or DSL/ADSL (broadband)

has she installed any software or hardware before the error stated.

do she run a virus scanner
 

krn_54

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
4
I apologize for that. My friend is getting an error when she attempts to go online. She is getting an error that reads "you have performed an illegal operation - if the problem persists please contact the vendor". She is running windows 98 with norton anti-virus. Nothing has been installed previously. This is the only information she has supplied.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
have you run any spyware products - like spybot or ad-aware.

what version of IE is she using

can you answer the rest of the questions
 

krn_54

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
4
Thank you. No spyware, etc. She has not downloaded anything and she is using DSL. I am using IE 5 so she is using the version before it and I am not sure of the numbers. Need anything else? Thank you all for your help.
 

etaf

Wayne
Moderator
Joined
Oct 2, 2003
Messages
65,468
this is going to be very difficult to fix with the minimum information available.

I suggest she repairs IE biut without knowing the version - i cant advise if thats possible.
The version before IE5 is IE4 - if she is on IE4 then she needs to upgrade to IE6, which in the UK is available on magazine covers and ISP CD's often sent in post - infact the last problem I resolved, i got them to use a TESCO CD.

so - repair IE if its at least V5.5
or instal an new version of IE.

Then we can start looking at other things,

what spyware programs has she run
what antivirus has she run
does she have a firewall

when does this error occur
what application is she running
post as much detail from the error code as possible
post make/model of PC

how is the PC connected to internet - via a dial-ip or DSL/ADSL (broadband)

has she installed any software or hardware before the error stated.

do she run a virus scanner
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top