1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lag in Steam

Discussion in 'Games' started by Kramer55, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Kramer55

    Kramer55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    I finally got back into playing Couter Strike (1.6, not Source) and Day Of Defeat.

    I have been experiencing some terrible lag, sometimes into 300 and higher, but I am on cable (2.0 mbps).

    2.8 ghz w/ HT
    512 ram
    128mb ATI X300 catalyst 4.12
    145 gb HD

    I have Mcaffe virus scan which searches for spyware and "unwanted programs", so i am not sure if spyware is a threat

    This is also the only online game that lags

    Return to Castle Wolf.. ET doesnt lag

    whats the problem?

    Thanks
     
  2. Pengu

    Pengu

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    Messages:
    291
    it happens to me 2 when u click servers it takes awhile to show up or doesnt show up
     
  3. funkdmonkey

    funkdmonkey

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2004
    Messages:
    335
    Steam is horrible. Go to www.steampowered.com and post this in the forums, i know there are a few console commands that can reduce ping. You wouldnt happen to be behind a router would you? Occasionally they can cause problems with internet related stuff.
     
  4. Kramer55

    Kramer55 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    yea, im on a router

    the problem seems to mainly be w/ DoD, but lag occurs in both

    my ping wil be between 30-70, then it will blast to 150isht, then 300

    i never laaged in Call Of Duty either
     
  5. Interstate

    Interstate

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Try disabling the security setting to see if the problem persists, or look in the security settings menu, there should be a list of allowed content to come through the firewall. Then check the server location, try to get one that's closest to you. I've played on servers in Turkey and other countries which can be laggy.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323008

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice