1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Lag spikes with interval

Discussion in 'Games' started by Tonden, Apr 25, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hey, first post ever this is.

    So I'm having problems with lag in games and this lag ONLY occur in games. I just reinstalled my computer with windows xp home edition because of the wireless internet lag that windows 7 and vista is coursing. The lag seems to happen very few minutes and then lag for a minute or so. I tried updating all my drivers, defragging HD, updating my BIOS and I've searched all over the internet and i have yet to find a soloution for my problem. So please assist me in this matter, and btw way this problem goes for offline games too.
     
  2. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    Hi, Tonden, welcome to Tech Support Guy. Have you tried restarting the router, and then restarting the computer(s)? It might help if you post your results from http://pingtest.net/ here.
     
  3. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    But would that have an effect on my offline games?
     
  4. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    [​IMG]
    There you go. But would this afffect my offline gaming? Which is mainly the problem.
     
  5. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Bump.
    Please help me out here, I'm quite desperate! :)
     
  6. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    Ah, sorry, I thought you meant lag as in multiplayer syncronization playing up, but with offline, it may be a problem with your CPU or RAM, or possibly some resource consuming programs that once in a while run a task whilst you are playing a game.
     
  7. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Oka. Do you have any idea of what it could be? I don't as I just reinstalled the OS on the computer and i have not installed any programs which would consume that much power from the CPU, atleast none that i know of.

    Thank you in advance ;)
     
  8. MMMMTOASTY

    MMMMTOASTY

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    26
  9. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    what's your computer spec and what game are u playing
     
  10. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    His computer specs seem ok, 4GB RAM is more than enough to play most games, unless he/she's playing stuff like GTA IV and new releases which require loads of CPU and RAM.
     
  11. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    At the moment i play Protoype and Space Siege. These games run perfect for some mins and then they start lag, and then again they start running perfect. This rythm repeats itself. Furthermore i don't think it is overheating as I'm using a cooling pad for it and it does not seem very hot at all.
     
  12. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Hardware monitor ACPI
    Temperature 0 80°C (175°F) [0xDCC] (TZS0)
    Temperature 1 75°C (166°F) [0xD9A] (TZS1)

    Hardware monitor AMD Turion X2 RM-74
    Temperature 0 79°C (173°F) [0x274] (Core #0)
    Temperature 1 78°C (172°F) [0x272] (Core #1)

    Hardware monitor Hitachi HTS543232L9A300
    Temperature 0 41°C (105°F) [0x29] (Assembly)

    Hardware monitor Battery 1
    Voltage 0 12.40 Volts [0x3071] (Current Voltage)
    Capacity 0 48840 mWh [0xBEC8] (Designed Capacity)
    Capacity 1 48840 mWh [0xBEC8] (Full Charge Capacity)
    Capacity 2 48840 mWh [0xBEC8] (Current Capacity)
    Level 0 n.a. [0x64] (Wear Level)
    Level 1 100 pc [0x64] (Charge Level)
     
  13. Callum_Dawson

    Callum_Dawson

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    560
    I wasn't expecting to see everything as about 70 degrees celcius, I thought they were meant to be around 30 degrees.
     
  14. schang626

    schang626

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    447
    ya i agree, the cpu is running too hot
     
  15. Tonden

    Tonden Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Crap... Can't get it cleaned as i can't get to those parts by myself and i don't have the money to send it to some repair guy...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/919128

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice