1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LAN boot. Please help!¡!!!!!!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by austinm6, Apr 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. austinm6

    austinm6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Hi I run a school network with compaq cq-610 ( I will check on the model I think it's right) and im getting tired of reinstalling windows xp. We have an unused windows server 2003 machine and I was wondering if we could LAN boot the machines? I've seen it done but don't know how to. Please help!
     
  2. zx10guy

    zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Messages:
    6,300
    What do you mean by LAN boot?

    Are you asking how to do a re-image of workstations over the LAN?
     
  3. austinm6

    austinm6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Sorta. I want to be able to remove the hard drives from the computers and still have them be able to boot from the Windows server. I do not know how to do this, any help would be appriciated.
     
  4. austinm6

    austinm6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Obj and by the way the pcs are compaq persario cq61z-300
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  6. austinm6

    austinm6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    I will look into that. What I really want Is something free.
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
    Good luck with that request.
    I have some pretty good Google foo and I can probably tell you right now that is a pretty tall order.

    If you are sick and tired of reinstalling Windows, then you should think about making a base image for the computers. Then push the image down to the computer instead of reinstalling. I used to be able to multi-cast an entire computer lab in less than 15 minutes when I worked for the school district.
     
  8. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,786
  9. austinm6

    austinm6 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    I watched that video. I will install Debain on the server. What do I do after that?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916518

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice