1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LAN Connection not receiving Packets

Discussion in 'Networking' started by MeenMutha, Aug 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Hi Guys

    I have a home network that does not connect to the internet, but which I use to play games on, or did before this issue happened by.

    For years my PC's and friends ones had been able to connect into the network with little or no problems, but a few months ago my tower PC just stopped picking anybody or anything up on the network and I have tried tons of different resolutions to solve this.

    Anyway, the other day I bought a new HD and installed XP SP3 again on it, and for about fifteen minutes I could connect to my Vista Laptop and share files and play games, then it stopped.

    Next day the same again and off and on till now when its been down for the last week.

    I have also now bought a new network card - no difference - and disabled the on board network card through the BIOS - no difference.

    I have done a Winsock repair, replaced automatic IP addresses with manual ones, and countless other remedies which have not solved diddly.

    Can you guys perhaps tell me if the motherboard is shot? Would this be the problem? Otherwise, what else can I do?
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    what firewall / security are you using ?

    lets see a device manager screen shot and a ipconfig /all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Device Manager
    Post back the results in device manager
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the screen shot and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    how to access device manager for different windows versions
    http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000833.htm

    Hold the Windows key and press Pause key, should open to allow device manager to be seen

    on a laptop you may need to use Hold the Windows key and press FN key + the pause key

    if this does not work then -

    Windows 7 or Vista
    Click on the Start Orb
    In the Start Search box type
    device manager and then press enter

    -------------------

    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    windows 7
    start > control panel> System and Security> Device Manager


    network adaptors, click on the + > post back the devices listed there
    are there any ! ? or X


    post a screen shot of the device manager - network adapters

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    1) hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    OR
    2) if you are using Vista/Windows 7 you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool

    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are available here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Hi Wayne

    Thanks for the quick response.

    At the moment because I have just reinstalled XP on the tower, it has no AV software running, and the only firewall is the standard MS one. I have tried disabling that too but with no effect.

    As to the rest, I shall dash home and get it all posted.

    as a BTW, it connect to the internet off a 3G dongle with no issues, but that it through the USB ports.
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    Thanks
    no rush, I'm not around for the next 8hrs or so (UK timezone) , so another member may pickup
     
  5. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    ip config:




    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KITS

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-CD-1F-BE-8D

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.101

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HUAWEI Mobile Connect - 3G Network Card #4

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-10-1F-30-5E



    PPP adapter Cell C:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 197.107.230.6

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 197.107.230.6

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 41.50.20.29

    41.50.20.61

    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.11.12.13

    Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 10.11.12.14

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     

    Attached Files:

  6. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    btw, in the above config the IP is still set to manual mode, not to automatically get IP addresses. I shall post the automatic ones next.
     
  7. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Here it is with automatic IP acquisition on:

    Windows IP Configuration



    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : KITS

    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :

    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown

    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8139 Family PCI Fast Ethernet NIC

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0A-CD-1F-BE-8D

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.180.215

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :



    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 6:



    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HUAWEI Mobile Connect - 3G Network Card #4

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-10-1F-30-5E



    PPP adapter Cell C:



    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :

    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface

    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00

    Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

    IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 197.107.230.6

    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255

    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 197.107.230.6

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 41.50.20.29

    41.50.20.61

    Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 10.11.12.13

    Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 10.11.12.14

    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    theres only one ethernet connection shown

    I assume you still have disabled the on board network card through the BIOS - correct

    do a tcp/ip stack repair
    and also check the service status

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Status of Services

    We would like to see some status information for each of the services listed below.

    To do this goto

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista/W7}> type CMD to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    Type the following command
    SERVICES.MSC

    OR
    Control Panel>
    Administrative Tools>
    Services>

    then for each of the services listed below - Please post back the following status information;
    If the service is set to Started or Stopped
    and
    If the service is set to Automatic or Manual

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues)
    • Computer Browser
    • DHCP Client
    • DNS Client
    • Network Connections
    • Network Location Awareness
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC)
    • Server
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only)
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only)
    • Workstation


    If any of those services are not started/running,
    then right click on the service
    then from the menu choose properties and now check the dependencies.

    for each dependancy entry - Check each of one of the dependencies and see which one is preventing the service from running/starting.

    ---------
     
  9. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Ok, no problem with the WINSOCK repair, did the reboot and no error message.

    The services are as follows:

    • COM+ Event System (for WZC issues) - Started Manual
    • Computer Browser - Started Auto
    • DHCP Client - Started Auto
    • DNS Client - started auto
    • Network Connections - Started Manual
    • Network Location Awareness - Started Manual
    • Remote Procedure Call (RPC) - Started Auto
    • Server - Started auto
    • TCP/IP Netbios helper - Started Auto
    • Wireless Zero Configuration (XP wireless configurations only) - Started auto
    • WLAN AutoConfig (Windows 7 & Vista wireless configurations only) - NA
    • Workstation - Started Auto

    As an aside, I am connecting to the internet now through the network card listed above through the offices wired network.

    Thanks for the help so far.
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    well thats pretty important that it works on another network

    can you describe your home network and the work network - do you take your desktop to work ?

    what the make and model of the pc?
     
  11. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    I usually do not take it to work with me but I wanted to DL updates and AV and so on, and also wanted to see if it would work on this network or not, so brought it this morning.

    The details of the PC I am not too sure of but it has an intel Motherboard with 915 chipset apparently, XP with SP3, 3.2ghz P4 processor with just under 2 gigs of ram.

    Home network used to be through an 8 switch modem thing, but since I have been having this issue I have been connecting via a cable straight to each other, in other words only two PCs at a time on the network. My laptop is an HP Quad core running Vista Home Premium and my tower runs XP professional.

    And I have tried different cables between the two and nothing changes, even though it did sporadically work soon after the reinstall of XP.
     
  12. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Oh, and the work network is an ADSL line through a modem that then feeds switches through the office, to which we then connect, and as you see, no problems connecting or seeing the other shared folders on the network. Also, my Vista laptop also connects and does not experience problems on the work network.
     
  13. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
  14. MeenMutha

    MeenMutha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Okay, heres something that is very strange. I have just connected my laptop to the office network and it will not - does the same thing my tower did at home, not receiving any packets and cannot access internet or see shared folders on the office network. This is while the tower is connected to the network.

    What is going on here?:mad:
     
  15. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,945
    so you need to get the laptop working on the router at work - are work OK with you using your personal PCs on thier network- this is very unusual - quite a few issues of network security and virus/malware

    lets see an ipconfig /all from the desktop and one from the laptop - make sure we know which is which

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064144