LAN faster than WAN

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dunc453

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
78
Hey,
we just upgraded our internet to 8mb/s. We have two lines now and one is still slow. Therefore i need to connect my PC to the faster one, which is downstairs. I am using the slower one for my network file and prinet sharing. Is it gonna be faster when i wire the new router to thepc rather than WAN.

Oh and i would be using a RJ41 to move the router upstairs.

Thanks
Duncan
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
RJ41? Do you mean an RJ45, aka Ethernet cable?

I don't get the "two lines now" comment, how about describing the entire network topology, as well as the exact make/model of any modems and routers you currently have installed.
 

dunc453

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
78
didnt think anyone would.

No not rj45 etherent cable, i meant RJ11 cable,

i am gonna make a visio document explaining meh whole network.

Should have that in a few days.


Thanks
Dunc
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
1,710
RJ refers to the terminators. Specifically, what kind of cable are you looking to use? Bell Wire? Cat3? Cat5? Cat6?
 

dunc453

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
78
i dunno,
Which wire should i be looking for?
I guess the fastest?
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
1,710
I would say use Cat5e/Cat6 depending on how much you want to spend. You're then free to run ethernet over that cable.
 

dunc453

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 21, 2007
Messages
78
where can i get a 20 meter cat 5?

I have looked, if you dont know where, then please teach me how to crimp!
 
Joined
Jul 12, 2008
Messages
1,710
It's probably not worth making your own because of the cost of the crimper.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Maybe making your own is a better idea. ;)

I know there are computer mail order sites in the UK, hard to believe that something as common as an Ethernet cable is not readily available, maybe not quite as cheap.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top