1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LAN faster than WAN

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dunc453, Sep 29, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dunc453

    dunc453 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    Hey,
    we just upgraded our internet to 8mb/s. We have two lines now and one is still slow. Therefore i need to connect my PC to the faster one, which is downstairs. I am using the slower one for my network file and prinet sharing. Is it gonna be faster when i wire the new router to thepc rather than WAN.

    Oh and i would be using a RJ41 to move the router upstairs.

    Thanks
    Duncan
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    RJ41? Do you mean an RJ45, aka Ethernet cable?

    I don't get the "two lines now" comment, how about describing the entire network topology, as well as the exact make/model of any modems and routers you currently have installed.
     
  3. dunc453

    dunc453 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    didnt think anyone would.

    No not rj45 etherent cable, i meant RJ11 cable,

    i am gonna make a visio document explaining meh whole network.

    Should have that in a few days.


    Thanks
    Dunc
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    OK, that will help a bunch! :D
     
  5. avisitor

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    RJ refers to the terminators. Specifically, what kind of cable are you looking to use? Bell Wire? Cat3? Cat5? Cat6?
     
  6. dunc453

    dunc453 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    i dunno,
    Which wire should i be looking for?
    I guess the fastest?
     
  7. avisitor

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    I would say use Cat5e/Cat6 depending on how much you want to spend. You're then free to run ethernet over that cable.
     
  8. dunc453

    dunc453 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
    where can i get a 20 meter cat 5?

    I have looked, if you dont know where, then please teach me how to crimp!
     
  9. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  10. avisitor

    avisitor

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,710
    It's probably not worth making your own because of the cost of the crimper.
     
  11. dunc453

    dunc453 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    78
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Maybe making your own is a better idea. ;)

    I know there are computer mail order sites in the UK, hard to believe that something as common as an Ethernet cable is not readily available, maybe not quite as cheap.
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - faster
  1. Sviwe
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    348
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/754556

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice