lan speeds are slow

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

warlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
109
i have a network of about 6 computers.
the one im using however has an icredibly slow internet speed compared to the others.
all the others are gettig about 15mb and im only getting 5.
ive tried troubleshooting itas far as i could.
ive tried a different wire on my wall jack, ive tried my wire on other computers wall jacks, ive tried different wires on other computers wall jacks, i tried swapping jacks around on the router and i even tried going straight from the router to my computer.
so this makes the problem either my lan card or my router. but i cannot figure out which or what to do to fix it
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
157
Are you using HUB or SWITCH. if so then try changing the port on which you are plugging in the wire with someone else one.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
777
Try plugging your computer directly into the Internet solution (is it DSL, cable, other?). That should tell you in a heartbeat if it is something with your computer.
 

warlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
109
i took my wire and connected it to the cable modem and my comp. i tried using both a patch cord and a p2p cord( cant think of what its called right now)
after connecting them and all the lights light up indicating so i try to access the internet and it gives me 404 errors.

also ive tried checking in my bios for reasons.
and ive went thru the lan card properties and compared it to another computer to see if they match up and they do.

both computers that i checked are identical in every way except im on win2000 and the other is xp, and i have more memory
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
777
Try a regular ethernet cable, not a crossover.

If that does nothing, check out your Device Manager and see if there are any errors.
 

warlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
109
device manager is clean and i did try a regular cable
still no results
 

warlord

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Messages
109
im pretty sure the problem is something with my card or its settings but i dont know what
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2007
Messages
777
When you set up your network did you run xp's network setup program on your 2000 machine?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top