1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

lan speeds are slow

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by warlord, Oct 26, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    i have a network of about 6 computers.
    the one im using however has an icredibly slow internet speed compared to the others.
    all the others are gettig about 15mb and im only getting 5.
    ive tried troubleshooting itas far as i could.
    ive tried a different wire on my wall jack, ive tried my wire on other computers wall jacks, ive tried different wires on other computers wall jacks, i tried swapping jacks around on the router and i even tried going straight from the router to my computer.
    so this makes the problem either my lan card or my router. but i cannot figure out which or what to do to fix it
     
  2. anand1

    anand1

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Are you using HUB or SWITCH. if so then try changing the port on which you are plugging in the wire with someone else one.
     
  3. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    ive tried that and im using a router
     
  4. anand1

    anand1

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2007
    Messages:
    157
    Do you have any firewall installed??
     
  5. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    no only the firewall thats built into the router
     
  6. markomus

    markomus

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Try plugging your computer directly into the Internet solution (is it DSL, cable, other?). That should tell you in a heartbeat if it is something with your computer.
     
  7. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    it will not connect at all directly to modem and it is cable
     
  8. markomus

    markomus

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    :confused: Ehh...sorry to ask, but how is it not able?
     
  9. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    i took my wire and connected it to the cable modem and my comp. i tried using both a patch cord and a p2p cord( cant think of what its called right now)
    after connecting them and all the lights light up indicating so i try to access the internet and it gives me 404 errors.

    also ive tried checking in my bios for reasons.
    and ive went thru the lan card properties and compared it to another computer to see if they match up and they do.

    both computers that i checked are identical in every way except im on win2000 and the other is xp, and i have more memory
     
  10. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    oh the other cable is called crossover
     
  11. markomus

    markomus

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Try a regular ethernet cable, not a crossover.

    If that does nothing, check out your Device Manager and see if there are any errors.
     
  12. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    device manager is clean and i did try a regular cable
    still no results
     
  13. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    im pretty sure the problem is something with my card or its settings but i dont know what
     
  14. markomus

    markomus

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    When you set up your network did you run xp's network setup program on your 2000 machine?
     
  15. warlord

    warlord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    109
    no i did it manually on each machine
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/643841

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice