Solved Laptop battery

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
21,085
(y)
Now create a desktop shortcut.
1. Right click a blank area of the desktop and select New--> Shortcut
2. Type in
Code:
shutdown -s /t 0
that sets the time to zero for immediate shutdown. If you want a bit a time to think about it you could set it higher than zero, I guess.
3. Type a name like True Shutdown or Real Shutdown or Save the battery! :ROFLMAO:

Now all you have to do is click the shortcut and the computer immediately shuts down.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
I looked around for an immediate shutdown ... rather than wait.
Didn't see that one ... Thanks.
I like my power button .... one of these is my Wife's laptop, I don't want to try to explain much :D
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
Something didn't look right .... I reset/recharged both batteries.
After about 12 hours ....
Shutdown -s was at 100%
Shutdown -s /t 0 was at 97 %
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,022
BTW, if you add a "/f" to the end of the command, like this:

shutdown /s /t 0 /f​

it tells shutdown that you want to "f"orce the shutdown.

For more information about all of the available shutdown parameters, type:

shutdown /?​

at a cmd prompt.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
I saw that ....
But I'm thinking ... Why force when there's something running that I want off ??
Luckily, I can try each command prompt.
If this test works ... My next test maybe to just shorten the 30sec shutoff.

I'm wondering if this is why this is why these were on the refurbished market.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,022
"/F"orce tells shutdown.exe to slam any hung and/or slow-closing programs down now.

"/T 0" (that's a zero, not an "Oh") tells shutdown.exe not to wait for a user's response.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
That's what I figured.
I don't know what happened or when .... but I was using -s not /s ???
So I fixed and restarted.
Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2014
Messages
4,022
Either will work; (six of one, half a dozen of another):

shutdown -s -t 0 -p​

or

shutdown /s /t 0 /p​

I tend to use "/" simply out of habit. (I'm really old . . . think "BC", Before Computers. ;))
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
my HPg6 is using a SSD [shutdown /s] and is still at 100%
my HP 6570 is using a HDD [Shutdown /s /t 0] and is down to 95%

I'm about ready to see how I can shorten the 30sec shutdown.
I'll bet I got you beat :D
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
My Desktop is connected to a smart strip ...
Shut down the computer and everything goes off.
 

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
Recap ... tried both computers.
This does NOT save the battery .... shutdown /s /t 0
This DID save the battery ... shutdown /s

Recharging now
?????????????????????????????
 
Last edited:

Noyb

Jay
Thread Starter
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,096
I Know .... I'm glad I checked.
Maybe I should change my name to Stranger, Ya think ?
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top