Laptop causing internet to disconnect

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Furdo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
4
Hi all,

My parents just purchased 2 secondhand Acer Aspire 5750g laptops which I’ve given new SSDs and fresh installs of Windows 10.

At home they have a BT Homehub which they connect their iPhones, iPads, laptops and Amazon Echo to.

When connecting to the hub using one of the laptops via either Ethernet or WiFi, the hub loses connection to the internet. If I disable the network adapters the connection restores, but will immediately fail if I enable them.

Although the machines are quite old the drivers are up to date and I am able to use them on my network at home without fault.

I’ve tried factory resetting the hub and laptops but the problem is still occurring and occurs regardless of the number of devices connected to the hub.

The hub’s firmware is updated automatically and is up to date.

If the wireless adapter is enabled, the issue occurs regardless as to whether the laptop is connected to the hub or not, even if the WiFi is set to off (but the adapter isn’t disabled) the hub falls over.

I’ve attached the first page of the hub’s log in the hope someone knowledgable will spot something obvious.

Thanks in advance,

Tom
 

Attachments

dmccoy

Darrin
Joined
Oct 7, 2017
Messages
4,489
Is that laptop setup to get a dynamic IP address and not static IP. If not there may be an ip conflict.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,734
If it is happening on both Ethernet and Wireless, I suspect a bad router/hub.
 

Furdo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
4
Thanks Couriant, that’s my conclusion. I’ve got a spare FRITZ!Box 3490 which I’m going to try tonight
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,734
Let us know! I assume that box is supported by the service?
 

Furdo

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2018
Messages
4
It should be but their support wasn’t any help! I took the laptop back to their house last night with the new router and oddly the issue had resolved itself!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top