laptop connected to wireless network but no internet connection

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
Hey guys was just reading another thread relating to this but is closed sore opening the can of worms again.

My laptop is connected to my wireless network but not receiving an internet connection through it i have a desktop that is connected to same wireless and is not having a problem at all.my lan port is broken so cant hard wire it.
any help will be much appreciated and laymans terms
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
Hi and welcome to TSG:
In order to answer your questions,we will need to know a bit more about your environment:
This is from a Johnwill post.Answer as many of these points as you can.
The “Johnwill” need to know about your environment questionnaire:

Please supply the following info, exact make and models of the equipment please.
.

What country are you located in.
Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).
What is the expected Upstream/Downstream speed for your ISP Connection?
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2)
Make and model of your computer.
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc.
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc.




Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.

If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms? Have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way? Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue?

If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally?




On any affected computer, I'd also like to see this:

Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

Type the following commands:

PING 206.190.60.37

PING yahoo.com

NBTSTAT -n

IPCONFIG /ALL

Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
Paste the results in a message here.

If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
__________________
In addition,if you have any firewalls running,disable them and see if that makes a difference on this issue.
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
What country are you located in. New zealand
Name of your ISP (Internet Service Provider).Clear net
What is the expected Upstream/Downstream speed for your ISP
Connection?7-10mbs
Make and exact model of the broadband modem.motorola sb510i
Make and exact model and hardware version of the router (if a separate unit).smc-barricade smcwrbr14t-g
Model numbers can usually be obtained from the label on the device.
Connection type, wired or wireless.wirless
If wireless, encryption used, (none, WEP, WPA, or WPA2) wpa
Make and model of your computer.nec versa m400
Version and patch level of Windows on all affected machines, i.e. XP-Home (or XP-Pro), SP1-SP2, Vista, etc. windows xp home sp2
The Internet Browser in use, IE, Firefox, Opera, etc. explorer(currrently)


Please give an exact description of your problem symptoms, including the exact text of any error messages.as above post

If you're using a wireless connection, have you tried a direct connection with a cable to see if that changes the symptoms? Have you disabled all encryption on the router to see if you can connect that way? Have you connected directly to the broadband modem to see if this is a router or modem/ISP issue? no due to broken lan port have adaptor but cant get software due to no internet connection

If there are other computers on the same network, are they experiencing the same issue, or do they function normally? NO


commpand prompt info

(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\ Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>ping 206.190.60.37

Pinging 206.190.60.37 with 32 bytes of data:

Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.
Request timed out.

Ping statistics for 206.190.60.37:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>ping yahoo.com
Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>NBTSTAT -N

Wireless Network Connection:
Node IpAddress: [121.73.70.103] Scope Id: []

NetBIOS Local Name Table

Name Type Status
---------------------------------------------
URMAMA <00> UNIQUE Registered
URMAMA <20> UNIQUE Registered
MSHOME <00> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1E> GROUP Registered
MSHOME <1D> UNIQUE Registered
..__MSBROWSE__.<01> GROUP Registered

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [0.0.0.0] Scope Id: []

No names in cache

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : URMAMA
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : National Semiconductor Corp. DP83815
/816 10/100 MacPhyter PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-D0-50-F2-02

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G630 Wireless C
ardbus Adapter(rev.E)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-9A-02-D3-DF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 121.73.70.103
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 121.73.70.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 203.96.152.4
203.96.152.12

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
You have DHCP disabled on that machine for the wireless connection.


Select Start > Settings > Network Connections.

  • Double-click the Connection icon of the connection you wish to modify to open the Local Area Connection Status window.
  • Click the Properties button to open the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click to highlight Internet Protocol (TCP/IP).
  • Click the Properties button to open the Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) Properties window.
  • TCP/IP Properties window, IP Address tab
  • Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
  • Select Obtain DNS server address automatically.
  • Click OK to return to the Local Area Connection Properties window.
  • Click OK to return to the Network Connections window.

Reboot and see if you can connect now.
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
I know I do cause if I have it on it disable the wirless connection and makes it go into limited or no connectivity
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2001
Messages
6,523
One other bit of info until John gets back to you.
Did this configuration ever work?
If,so,when did it fail and what if any changes were made(hardware/software)
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2008
Messages
8
this happend to my laptop i was searcghin on the interent for ages when i came across a wizard wich resets youur wireless configuraition so its works i will find it and post it
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
I suspect that an ipconfig of the working PC will show a private IP address because it is properly connected to and communicating with the router.

As long as you have the problem PC set to a static public IP address you are not likely to get very far. Certainly not unless there are some other details about your network that you omitted.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Terry's right, if configuring it for DHCP doesn't get a connection, it's unlikely picking an IP address and doing a manual configuration will do any better. The only reason that the wireless connection doesn't say "limited or no connectivity" is because it never does if you configure the IP address manually, but you didn't fix anything.
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
ipconfig of working pc

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron and Julia>ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : DESKTOP
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : DSE Wireless CardBus-PCI Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-19-E0-88-FB-46
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.100
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, 30 September 2008 5:08:54 p
.m.
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Wednesday, 1 October 2008 5:08:54 p.
m.

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron and Julia>


ipconfig of affected laptop after activating dhcp.


Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>IPCONFIG /ALL

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : URMAMA
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : National Semiconductor Corp. DP83815
/816 10/100 MacPhyter PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-40-D0-50-F2-02

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : D-Link AirPlus G DWL-G630 Wireless C
ardbus Adapter(rev.E)
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-17-9A-02-D3-DF
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.220.82
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Aaron &Julia>
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
it has worked fine for the past year ive rebooted a couple of times completely but this time laptop spat the dummy and locked up in a menu for starting in safe mode and so on,no matter which option i chose it ended right back at that menu this coupld be the problem cause the only way i could get it going again was to kill it by removing battery's including cmos one and rebooting it all over again.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Let's try a stack repair.


TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3.

Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands:

Note: Type only the text in bold for the following commands.

Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log

Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog

Reboot the machine.
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
i did that after the first one i got a connection to the wirless but not to internet after second one and reboot back to limited or no connectivity.
cheers
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,961
Disable encryption on the router and try to connect. Assuming success you should be able to re-enable encryption and reconnect.
 

urmama

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 26, 2008
Messages
10
encyption removed and it now comes up with duplicate name exists on the network and also my main desktop will not connect to wireless without encryption activated ???
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top