1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop does not see router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by BrianP, Jul 26, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Dell Inspiron B130 laptop does not see the wireless signal from my NetGear router. Diagnostics on the router check out as well as the wireless card in the laptop. If I plug the cable directly to the laptop, I can connect just fine. So I know the router is fine, my dsl connection is good.

    Results of ipconfig are as follows:

    Host Name.....................................
    Primary Dns Suffix..........................
    Mode Type....................................: Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled......................... No
    WINS Proxy Enabled....................... No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State................................. Media disconnected
    Description.................................. Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Controller
    Physical Address........................ 00-14-22-9B-51-4C

    Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State................................ Media disconnected
    Description................................ Dell Wireless 1370 WLAN Mini-PCI Card
    Physical Address....................... 00-14-A5-83-F6-AD

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    A few questions and some things to try.
    What is the computer make/model and OS?
    Have you ever connected the computer to a wireless network?
    Canyou see any networks?
    If you see other networks, check the router and be sure that SSID broadcast is turned on when you try to make the initial connection. You may want to also turn off any security WEP, WPA).
    Under Properties for you wireless card in Network Connections, under Internet Protocal (TCP/IP) do you have Obtain IP Address and Obtain DNS Server Address Automatically checked?
    I think Dell uses the Windows Zero Configuration utility. If you have a 3rd party wireless configuration utility make sure you do not have them both running at the same time. WZC can be turned off in Administrative Tools, Services,. About 4th from the botom of the list.
     
  3. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    In addition.Look at the adapter in device manager.
    Let’s take a look at the status of the network adapters

    Device manager:

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type devmgmt.msc

    Please respond to all the following steps.
    1. Under Network adapters, please tell me all the devices listed.
    2. Are there any devices under Network adapters that have a red x displayed?
    3. Also, are there any devices anywhere in the Device Manager display with yellow ? or ! displayed?
    4 Under general tab should be enabled and working properly.
    6. If error code,what is it ?
     
  4. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    I have connected to the wireless network before with this laptop. It does not see any wireless networks. I had already disabled encryption.

    I also looked at the device list. There was nothing with a red x, ? or ! displayed. The device is enabled and there are no error messages.
     
  5. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    From your ipconfig,you do not have a working wireless connection..
    Somewhere on the laptop you should see a light,telling you if the wireless connection has been switched on.
    The other thing you could do is go into device manager and delete the wireless adapter and re-boot and see if it will plug and play back to life.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    Does Fn + F2 switch your wireless off and on?
     
  7. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Yes it does switch it on and off.
     
  8. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    and from your ipconfig,the external looks like the switch is off.
    Confirm that by toggling the switch please.
     
  9. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    The switch is definitely on.
     
  10. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    OK;I think I might just check the wireless card connection itself.
    Your user's manual should be your guide on this as to location.Generally under the battery,but differs by make and model.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    And the antenna leads. :)
     
  12. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    I will check the wireless card. How do I check the antenna leads?

    Wouldn't either of these problems be picked up when I ran the diagnostics software on the card?
     
  13. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Diagnostics on the card won't tell you if the antenna leads are loose.
     
  14. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,552
    When you find the card, the first thing you will see are the antenna leads. :) OK, maybe that's an exageration, but you will see them, and probably have to remove them before removing/reinserting the card.
     
  15. BrianP

    BrianP Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Removed the card and antenna lead (one lead) reinserted card and attached lead to card. Couldn't see other end of the antenna lead.

    Powered on and saw a signal for about a minute than all of a sudden, no signal
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/846628