Laptop freezes, heats, turns off in any Win installation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
I have a Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 laptop running on windows 10, but suddenly it wont boot up a few months ago. When I turn it on, it would load only in safe mode but it will freeze, heat up and shut down.

That's why I decided to reset it. By the time I reinstalled windows, it won't get past the Getting Device Ready, it would only heat up and turn off . I tried multiple windows OS, from Windows 7 to different versions of Windows 10. I have researched in many forums and I tried to do it but those methods won't work for me.

I tried running memtest86 but there were no errors with my ram.

I have also observed that my hdd was heating up, i tried replacing it, but it still didn't work. Can someone here help me? :(( It's almost the start of my classes and this is my only laptop😢

P.S. I also tried installing Ubuntu, Android x86 and Elementary OS. There was something suspicious when I installed them. When the setup showed me the wifi networks, my system will suddenly heat up and freeze. The only OS that works for me is only Android x86 with acpi=off, but there is no wifi and sound. I saw on memtest that my cpu temperature is 86C. Is that normal?

CPU: Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz
RAM: 1x 8GB DDR3 Samsung;1 x 4GB DDR3 Samsung
HDD: 1 TB
GPU: Intel HD Graphics 4000
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
21,504
my cpu temperature is 86C. Is that normal?
No. It's too hot that's why it is powering down. Anything higher than 80°C should be avoided.

You keep trying to fix a hardware problem (CPU too hot) by software methods (installing all different versions of operating systems). As you discovered, that doesn't work.

You need to open up the laptop and clean it out to be sure it is running cooler.
 

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
No. It's too hot that's why it is powering down. Anything higher than 80°C should be avoided.

You keep trying to fix a hardware problem (CPU too hot) by software methods (installing all different versions of operating systems). As you discovered, that doesn't work.

You need to open up the laptop and clean it out to be sure it is running cooler.
Thank you very much for the advice! I will try repasting my cpu and clean the heatsink. Will update if it'll work. The paste is still on its way since I ordered it from an online store.
 

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15

Attachments

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,214
Is the layout of your motherboard somewhat different than the guide ? Just curious, we can still proceed.

Yes it does need re-pasting, there is a lot more there than you need.

It's a good idea to check between the heatsink and the fan, if you haven't done so already, that's where a blockage can occur. So try to move the fan away from the heatsink so you can see if it's clear or not.

This picture shows what I mean :-



Now to renew the thermal compound clean off all the grey stuff in your picture from the Cpu and the heatsink, you can use tissues and/or cotton buds, if it's hard scrape it off with something non-metallic made of wood or plastic which will not scratch the surface. Don't use water but you can use a solvent like isopropyl alcohol or 91% or higher rubbing alcohol on a tissue or bud to finish off.

Then put a small blob of new thermal compound onto the middle of the Cpu die (the silvery raised rectangle) which is all you have to cover. Then spread it into a thin layer with your finger inside a plastic bag or piece of cling film etc. so you can't see the silver surface anywhere. You only need a thin layer.

Now you can screw the Cpu heatsink back on and re-assemble the laptop.
If you disconnected the fan's cable don't forget to reconnect it ! (I've done that a few times).

If you have any questions just ask.
 
Last edited:

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
Is the layout of your motherboard somewhat different than the guide ? Just curious, we can still proceed.

Yes it does need re-pasting, there is a lot more there than you need.

It's a good idea to check between the heatsink and the fan, if you haven't done so already, that's where a blockage can occur. So try to move the fan away from the heatsink so you can see if it's clear or not.

This picture shows what I mean :-



Now to renew the thermal compound clean off all the grey stuff in your picture from the Cpu and the heatsink, you can use tissues and/or cotton buds, if it's hard scrape it off with something non-metallic made of wood or plastic which will not scratch the surface. Don't use water but you can use a solvent like isopropyl alcohol or 91% or higher rubbing alcohol on a tissue or bud to finish off.

Then put a small blob of new thermal compound onto the middle of the Cpu die (the silvery raised rectangle) which is all you have to cover. Then spread it into a thin layer with your finger inside a plastic bag or piece of cling film etc. so you can't see the silver surface anywhere. You only need a thin layer.

Now you can screw the Cpu heatsink back on and re-assemble the laptop.
If you disconnected the fan's cable don't forget to reconnect it ! (I've done that a few times).

If you have any questions just ask.
Thank you very much for the advice! :))) I would update you when the thermal compound that I ordered arrives!
 

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
That's fine.
UPDATE:

I repasted it and cleared the heat sink, but when i installed windows, it is still failing on the getting devices ready 100% also it froze and turned off. What could really be the source of the problem? The good thing is that it's not as hot as before
 
Last edited:

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,214
How did you make the Windows 10 install media ? Are you using a DVD or a USB stick ?

If you didn't do so already Delete all the existing partitions when it asks where you want to install to, so the whole drive shows as Unallocated space, then continue, Windows will make the new partitions automatically.

Just read your P.S. in post #1, you could try removing the wireless card before the next install attempt, it might be defective and could be causing the crashes.
 
Last edited:

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
How did you make the Windows 10 install media ? Are you using a DVD or a USB stick ?

If you didn't do so already Delete all the existing partitions when it asks where you want to install to, so the whole drive shows as Unallocated space, then continue, Windows will make the new partitions automatically.

Just read your P.S. in post #1, you could try removing the wireless card before the next install attempt, it might be defective and could be causing the crashes.
a. I tried both, with different operating systems.
b. I deleted the partitions every installation, then create a partition. I also used different hdds because i once thought that the problem is with the hdd.
c. I tried it once, maybe I'll try it again.

Are there other possible issues? I really don't know now what's wrong with my computer.
 

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
14,214
a. Okay. How did you make them ?
b. Try it without making a partition, just unallocated space.
c. Can't do any harm to try it again.

Since it crashes when trying to install other OSs I think it's a hardware problem but if not the wireless card I can't say what it could be.

Also try removing the Cmos battery for a few minutes then setting the Bios to defaults.
 
Last edited:

screencrack22

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 3, 2020
Messages
15
A. For the usbs i used rufus, microsoft windows media creation tool and unetbootin. And I have 2 cds of windows 7 ultimate and windows 8.
B. I'll do this and I'll update you.
C. I'm gonna do this again, i wish it's only the wifi card that caused the problem.
I will also try the cmos clear

I wish it'll work :(
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top