1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop HDMI connection not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lukeyspooksss, Nov 11, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lukeyspooksss

    lukeyspooksss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Hi

    I've got a Toshiba Satellite laptop running windows 10, and my HDMI connection doesn't seem to be working. I cany't figure out why not. I want to run my laptop through my TV, but the TV is not detecting the laptop, I've tried it on two TVs. I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling display drivers and updating the BIOS, detaching the battery, switching tv and PC off and starting them up connected etc. Any ideas?
     
  2. metallica5456

    metallica5456 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10,333
    First Name:
    Andrew
    What kind of laptop is it? Can you post the full model name and number here, please?

    What sizes are the 2 TV's?
     
  3. Rusty1952

    Rusty1952

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Hello !
    Interestingly, I didn't see in your post that you had tried changing out the HDMI cable with a known
    good one. Sometimes it can be the simple things that fix the problem...
     
    metallica5456 likes this.
  4. lukeyspooksss

    lukeyspooksss Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Hi both

    Sorry for the delay in coming back to you.

    Tvs are 42"

    Laptop is a Toshiba Satellite c-55-c-1m9


    I've tried different cables to no avail
    Thanks!
     
  5. Rusty1952

    Rusty1952

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    512
    Do you have a monitor that supports an HDMI input ? If so, have you verified the
    Toshiba laptop will successfully output a hdmi signal or not to the monitor and display it ?
     
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,100
    First Name:
    Liz
    I hope you know that simply plugging in a cable to a tv doesn't automatically cause it to display what is on the laptop.

    I plug our two netbooks by HDMI into a tv and turn everything on. I then need to use the tv remote (not a cable box remote) and select Source.
    Our tv has 3 HDMI ports and a USB port. I then need to select which HDMI port the cable is plugged into. The laptop screen darkens for a minute, comes back and the display appears on the tv.
     
    RT likes this.
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1219003

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice