1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop HDMI to tv stopped working

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by serenityzero, Apr 19, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. serenityzero

serenityzero Thread Starter

Hi,

I'm sorry, I'm somewhat technologically impaired. I've been connecting my tv to my laptop via HDMI cable for several years and it's always worked fine. Today when I tried, the screens just turned back. My TV stopped saying no signal as if it recognized the computer, and the computer screen went black as if it were switching to the TV, but neither of them actually worked. I tried to go into my display settings to connect to a projector which I have had to select in the past, but it says no additional display was detected. When I tried to tell it to do it anyway, the laptop screen started turning on and off every few seconds so it was black, then back to my desktop, then black again.

The really wonky part is that when I tried starting up the computer with the HDMI cable already attached, it showed the windows startup and password screens on the TV as if it were working properly--but as soon as it loaded up the desktop it started turning the screen on and off again until I disconnected the HDMI.

I haven't changed any settings on my computer recently--the only new thing I've installed are some games off Steam. Something crazy's going on with my computer that has never happened before, could someone please help?

-Shauna

PS: This image should have the info for my computer please let me know if you need any other information

Attached Files:

2. Oddba11

Oddba11

First Name:
    Jim
    Verify the screen resolution and refresh rate.