laptop intel gpu doesn't clock above 200 MHZ

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
owning a dell latitude e7440, i was expecting to be able to do normal tasks without lagging.
I was wrong.
I installed a fresh copy of Windows 10, and updated all the drivers to the latest version (Even used a previous graphics driver, and an intellimodded driver without avail), but after a short while of chrome surfing, or light gaming, the frames drop significantly, and usually never go back up until a restart occurs (sometimes that doesn't work either).

What I realize from this is that the intel GPU was stuck at 200 MHZ after a short while, and will never go beyond that frequency.

thru my little research, I've found out that my CPU had a 15 watt power limit, and would throttle after a while of pushing the cpu past 15 watts.
however, whenever the cpu and gpu get clocked down, they don't manage to go back up, even when the temps run down to 60-70 and the cpu power wattage is at 9-12W.

How can I release this lock so that the GPU can perform consistently throughout my session?
Or at least, how can I have the GPU run higher than 200 MHz during anything slightly graphic/cpu intensive? (Non-Demanding Games like League of Legends, or FL Studio, Chrome)

specs:
core i7 4600U
12 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
256 GB SSD
 
Last edited:

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
83,153
Dell Latitude E7440 (support site)
Have you updated the BIOS to version A25 which was released on March 01, 2018 and is listed as an urgent update?

The Intel Core i7-4600U 2.10 GHz dual core processor is a 15 watts 4th generation model.
cpu.JPG

According to Intel, that processor has an Intel HD Graphics 4400 integrated graphic device.
gpu.JPG

That graphic device has a base frequency of 200 MHz and a maximum dynamic frequency of 1.10 GHz.

--------------------------------------------------------------
 
Last edited:

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
The BIOS has been updated to A25 when the issue occured.
I know the base frequency is 200 MHz, but shouldn't it clock up a bit when needed to keep the framerates high enough?
 
Joined
May 14, 2017
Messages
457
The manufacturer does not recommend overclocking these graphs.
You do it at your own risk!
If you choose to do so, you can use the Intel® Extreme Tuning Utility (Intel® XTU) -> https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/products/66427/processors/processor- utilities-and-programs / intel extreme-tuning-utility-intel-xtu.html? _ga = 2.89933339.1466647026.1527761191-1849976179.1511097714
(read the instructions carefully and use the experience of other users (eg YouTube).
However, you must take into account that you can ruin your computer!
 

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
The manufacturer does not recommend overclocking these graphs.
You do it at your own risk!
If you choose to do so, you can use the Intel® Extreme Tuning Utility (Intel® XTU) -> https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/products/66427/processors/processor- utilities-and-programs / intel extreme-tuning-utility-intel-xtu.html? _ga = 2.89933339.1466647026.1527761191-1849976179.1511097714
(read the instructions carefully and use the experience of other users (eg YouTube).
However, you must take into account that you can ruin your computer!
No, that won't do.
First, I'm using a ULV CPU -> no overclocking for me.
Second, I can only change the MAX Graphics Clock ratio, which doesn't help in my case because I'm always going to be stuck at the base speeds.
 

crjdriver

Moderator
Joined
Jan 2, 2001
Messages
43,454
First and foremost you need to understand that your laptop is NOT designed for gaming; it is designed for general office stuff ie running office, email, web access, running spread sheets, etc, etc. Purpose designed gaming laptops have a real video card/chip, heavy duty cooling, large battery capacity, etc.

When you use a part in a manner for which it was not designed, you are almost always disappointed in the performance.
Since this is a laptop, settings are very restricted in the bios. You have a choice;
1 Live with it OR purchase a gaming laptop
2 Find a programmer to mod the bios file so you can set the video speed. Note this is NOT cheap; paying someone to write a custom bios file for you is going to cost hundreds of $
 

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
First and foremost you need to understand that your laptop is NOT designed for gaming; it is designed for general office stuff ie running office, email, web access, running spread sheets, etc, etc. Purpose designed gaming laptops have a real video card/chip, heavy duty cooling, large battery capacity, etc.

When you use a part in a manner for which it was not designed, you are almost always disappointed in the performance.
Since this is a laptop, settings are very restricted in the bios. You have a choice;
1 Live with it OR purchase a gaming laptop
2 Find a programmer to mod the bios file so you can set the video speed. Note this is NOT cheap; paying someone to write a custom bios file for you is going to cost hundreds of $
I guess, maybe I expected too much from this laptop. I didn't know it would underperform in terms of graphics compared to others with the exact same chip :/
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,076
Does the CPU run at the correct frequency ? You may have to run something like Prime95 to make it go to full speed. You can check the speed with CPU-Z.
 

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
Does the CPU run at the correct frequency ? You may have to run something like Prime95 to make it go to full speed. You can check the speed with CPU-Z.
Tried running it for an hour, but it doesnt seem to do mich
 

managed

Allan
Moderator
Joined
May 24, 2003
Messages
15,076
Tried running it for an hour, but it doesnt seem to do mich
It forces the Cpu to run at 100% which in turn should make it run at it's maximum frequency, so check the frequency with CPU-Z when Prime 95 starts, to make sure it's not being throttled.
 

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
It forces the Cpu to run at 100% which in turn should make it run at it's maximum frequency, so check the frequency with CPU-Z when Prime 95 starts, to make sure it's not being throttled.
When I played around w/ it, it goes up to around 1.6 ghz
But right now I can't even boot it (diff issue), so there's no trying here.
 

TheDylPickle

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 17, 2017
Messages
104
The Cpu should go up to at least 2.1 GHz, or even 3.3 if the 'turbo' kicks in, as shown in Frank's post #2 above.

I see you started a new thread about the start-up problem here :- https://forums.techguy.org/threads/please-wait-bootloop.1211032/
Well, since the update, the CPU has been performing as expected.
I don't experience power limit throttling as much anymore (I let the CPU go up to 1.6-2.7 GHz). The GPU WILL clock up to 600-1100 MHz once in a while, but then it will go back down and stay at 200 MHz for a long while (feels like an indefinite amount of time).
Checking in XTU, the Package TDP does not reach the Max TDP (Running at 10-13 watts), and none of the throttlings seem to be turned on...
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top