1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop internet says it's connected, but it's not

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Rob42, Aug 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Rob42

    Rob42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I just ordered an HP laptop and have been having internet problems right from the start.

    When I turn the laptop on, everything works fine and it says it is connected to the internet, however, Mozilla, IE, or any other web programs do not work. I click to diagnose and repair the problem and it still says it didn't find anything wrong, even though I can't open mozilla or IE or any web programs. The only thing that seems to fix it is resetting the network adapter. When I do this it works for about 20 minutes and then stops working again.

    I am running Windows Ultimate 64-bit.

    http://webmail.aol.com/44148/aim/en-us/mail/get-attachment.aspx?uid=1.25671605&folder=Inbox&partId=4

    This is the IPconfig /all from when the internet is working.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    That link takes me to a "login to AIM mail" page. Just post the ipconfig /all results directly in a post here.

    What non-Windows firewall or security suite do you have?

    Does this problem happen with both ethernet and wireless? Or is one OK and the other has the problem?

    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  3. Rob42

    Rob42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Sorry about that, here is the ipconfig:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6001]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Rob>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Robs-Laptop=
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) WiFi Link 5100 AGN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-65-60-3D-B0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::15f9:25f2:23c9:cb9d%11(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.133(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, August 20, 2009 11:33:12 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, August 21, 2009 11:33:12 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 68.87.71.230
    68.87.73.246
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : hsd1.ct.comcast.net.
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek RTL8168C(P)/8111C(P) Family PCI-E
    Gigabit Ethernet NIC (NDIS 6.0)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-9E-16-FE-6A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.hsd1.ct.comcast.net.
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:3838:a58:b3e3:9f89(Prefe
    rred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::3838:a58:b3e3:9f89%12(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    I did the CMD prompt things you suggested and reconnected to the internet. It is working at the moment, but there is no way to tell if this is any different from the other times it disconnected.


    EDIT: I just had the laptop hooked up with an ethernet cable for a couple of hours, and it worked fine. Does this mean my wireless card is messed up?
     
  4. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    Now that we know that it is a wireless only problem I most suspect the wireless driver. Make sure you have the latest one from your laptop manufacturer's web site. If you already have the latest use Device Manager to uninstall it; reboot and let Windows discover the adapter and reinstall the driver.
     
  5. Rob42

    Rob42 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    I did what you said, uninstalling and rebooting the laptop, and the internet was working for about one hour. Then it did the same thing it had been doing and lost connection to the internet. However, the laptop still thinks its connected to the internet, even after i click the 'diagnose and repair' button.

    EDIT: I also just tried pinging yahoo.com with the CMD prompt. I was able to ping it with no problems whatsoever. However, I cannot get onto yahoo.com through the browser. Not sure what this means.
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,553
    If you can successfully ping yahoo.com you have internet access.

    Three things I've noticed (through threads here) cause browsers to stop working after a time even though the internet connection is still intact.

    Non-Windows firewall or security suite. (uninstall it)
    Incorrect or corrupted NIC driver.
    Corrupted stack or WINSOCK.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/853972