1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop Is Unable To Connect To Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking' started by lzlzian, Feb 12, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lzlzian

    lzlzian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    yesturday i resetted my internet explore settings.

    after that,i cannot connect to the wireless internet of my home anymore.

    everytime i tried,it says windows is unable to connect to Alli(my network's name)

    now i'm in the room where the adapter is,connecting the internet with the cable,it's working fine.

    anybody help..
     
  2. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    Hi:
    Do you remember what you changed ?If so,can you change the settings back
    Let's see this from the failing pc.
    Wifi test exe. Hint from Johnwill

    Download and run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspecto from
    www.www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php

    on the problem machine. Post a screen shot of the main screen here.



    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file. To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you explain a little more

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Download and install
    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php

    Then run the program and post a screen shot of the program running
    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    -----------------------

    Do you have a firewall - that may be blocking
    Do you have wireless secruity enabled - if you log into the router and take that off


    {ipconfig /all}
    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all

    -> Start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all
    post back the results here


    TWO Methods to do that - if you cannot access the internet with PC, then use method 2 to copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    Method ONE -------------------------------------------------------------
    start > run {search bar in Vista} > cmd > ipconfig /all

    rightclick in the box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Method TWO -------------------------------------------------------------

    Start> Run {search bar in Vista}> CMD to open a DOS window and type:

    IPCONFIG /ALL >C:\RESULT.TXT

    Open C:\RESULT.TXT with Notepad and copy/paste the entire results here.

    -------------------------

    Make and model of PC
    make and model of router / modem
     
  4. lzlzian

    lzlzian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i guess it's not my problem,it's like nobody in the house can use the wireless.

    so i called the guy who set up the adapter for us,he told me to unplug the power for a while and plug it in again.

    it works,now the wireless is showing "connected",but beneth it is "no internet access".so actually i still cannot use it

    now i'm using an unsecured wireless.

    by the way ,i don't have any firewalls,and i don't know what had been changed yesturday cuz i just click reset..

    help!
     
  5. lzlzian

    lzlzian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    C:\Users\Ian>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ian-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Ethernet adapter Bluetooth Network Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Bluetooth Device (Personal Area Network)
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-27-13-72-F3-49
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 90-4C-E5-B5-95-88
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::7ce9:13e5:209b:712a%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.190(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : February-12-10 5:55:36 PM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : February-19-10 5:55:36 PM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 311446757
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-CA-28-B8-00-26-9E-C8-98-3A
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-9E-C8-98-3A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{D244C38E-5CB3-439D-96F5-5998A88D9735}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{2164D908-44E6-46D8-8E17-DEB8E2DFA4A2}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.phub.net.cable.rogers.com:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : phub.net.cable.rogers.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:1c50:32ce:3f57:ff41(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c50:32ce:3f57:ff41%16(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    C:\Users\Ian>
     
  6. pedroguy

    pedroguy

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    6,523
    You appear to have a working wireless connection.
    Do you have a router? Modem?
    How exactly are you making an internet connection.What are you plugging into ?
    Try these pings :
    From a Johnwill post on the Networking Forum


    Try these simple tests.

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD (COMMAND for W98/WME) to open a command prompt:

    In the command prompt window that opens, type type the following commands one at a time, followed by the Enter key:

    NOTE: For the items below surrounded with < >, see comments below for the actual information content, they are value substitutions from the previous IPCONFIG command output! Do NOT type <computer_IP_address> into the command, that won't work. Also, the < and > in the text is to identify the parameters, they are also NOT used in the actual commands.

    Do NOT include the <> either, they're just to identify the values for substitution.

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    PING <computer_IP_address>

    PING <default_gateway_address>

    PING <dns_servers>

    PING 74.125.45.100

    PING yahoo.com

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter to copy the contents to the clipboard.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    <computer_IP_address> - The IP Address of your computer, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above. (For Vista/Win7, the IPv4 Address)

    <default_gateway_address> - The IP address of the Default Gateway, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    <dns_servers> - The IP address of the first (or only) address for DNS Servers, obtained from the IPCONFIG command above.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. lzlzian

    lzlzian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i don't know what exactly it is.

    i just click the wireless internet icon at toolbar,and choose my net work,click connect.

    then it shows"connected"but still cannot be used.

    the internet i'm using now is the only unsecured internet access i can find in range.
     
  8. RahulMengale

    RahulMengale

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hey,

    I am assuming you have a modem and then its connected to a wireless router.

    Try few things first:

    1. Directly connect your PC to the modem and bypass the wireless router. This way you will know whether you are having internet access or not.
    2. Reset the modem after you have done the first thing.
    3. Once, the modem is up and all the lights are blinking as they are supposed to, then plug in the wireless router.

    In most cases, this has to be the issue between the wireless router and the modem.

    You have a working wireless network, so you should be fine.

    4. Also, log into the wireless router check whether the modem is assigning it a DNS server or not, what is the IP address range and whether your PC is in the same subnet. (In most cases, it is, but still)

    5. Did you by mistake check any proxy server or something in IE?

    Hope it helps,

    Rahul Mengale
     
  9. lzlzian

    lzlzian Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i've tried to restart both the modem and the router,before that it's like i cannot connect to the wireless,but i can still use the internet by connect the router directly to my laptop.

    but after doing that,it turned into connected but no internet access,and wired internet doesn't work,either.

    i don't know if i've done anything like that.i restored my laptop just now,but that seems useless,it's all the same
     
  10. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you do the ipconfig /all and the ping tests in post #6
    also a screen shot of xirrus

    from a johnwill post

    Some things you can try here, listed in the order you should try them.

    1. For wireless connections, remove all the stored wireless profiles and search for networks. You'll have to enter the encryption key again, which is sometimes the issue for connection problems.
    2. For wireless connections, change the channel on the router, I like channels 1, 6, and 11 in the US.
    3. For wireless connections, try moving either the wireless router/AP or the wireless computer. Even a couple of feet will sometimes make a big difference.
    4. Update the network drivers (wired and wireless) on your computer to the latest available.
    5. Update the firmware to the latest version available on the manufacturer's site.
    6. Reset the router to factory defaults and reconfigure.

    Many times these measures will resolve a lot of intermittent issues.
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/902475

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice