1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop mic not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jake Bullet, Apr 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Hi. For some reason my laptop mic isn't working. under sound devices / recording its showing michrophone, realtek high definition audio and its showing its enabled but when i speak it doesn't show anything. It is showing a stereo mix device as well. I'm on windows 7 is there something i'm missing to turn it on?
     
  2. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    would really appreciate help on this as i'm gonna need it for saturday for skype.
     
  3. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
  4. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    ok sorry about that. here it is.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Sempron(tm) SI-42, AMD64 Family 17 Model 3 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 2814 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI Radeon HD 3200 Graphics, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 119236 MB, Free - 45795 MB; D: Total - 118836 MB, Free - 72933 MB;
    Motherboard: TOSHIBA, NBWAE
    Antivirus: Norton 360, Updated and Enabled
     
  5. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
    I take it this is a Toshiba laptop? Still need a model #. I also notice your Windows is not up to date with Service Pack 1?

    Can you tell us when was the last time your mic was working? Just thinking of some of the things that will help the Tech's help you.
     
  6. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Yeah its a toshiba satellite L450D-113.

    I can't remember last time it was working. probably a few weeks ago.
     
  7. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
    Is there a reason your not doing Windows updates?
     
  8. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    doing it now, but i regulaly update it. Does the service pack effect the mic?
     
  9. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
    I don't know if it will effect your mic or not; but I do know that it helps the Tech's narrow things down much quicker if all is up to date.

    Hopefully one of the fellows will be along shortly to give you some ideas. Please update your Tech Support Guy System Info Utility after your update is complete.
     
  10. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    ok thanks. hope they come soon. would be nice to get it working.
     
  11. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
    On your Task bar, next to clock, Right click on the Speaker icon and then select Recording Devices. Take a look in there and see if everything seems OK.
     
  12. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    yeah it says microphone enabled and has the green tick. but when i speak into the mic it doesn't pick it up. I've tried disabling and re-enabling it but still nothing.
     
  13. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
    How did your Window update to Service Pack 1 go? Do you have access to a USB Mic you could try? Where are you doing the Mic check? Have you tried setting up the Mic on your Skype?
     
  14. Jake Bullet

    Jake Bullet Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    its still installing. taking forever. i do yes but i'd rather get this one working so i dont look like an idiot on a headset on skype. :p

    Been testing it in the recording devices bit. it has a set of bars next to it thats supposed to show its picking up but nothing. Have tested in skype and sound recorder but also nothing.
     
  15. captainron276

    captainron276

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,916
    First Name:
    Ron
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1049302

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice