1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop mouse only works if mouse plugged in

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by etaf, Mar 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    I have a compaq EVO N610 laptop and the touchpad and joystick mouse only work if i have an ordinary mouse plugged into the socket on the rear of the laptop.

    any ideas?
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Look in device manager to see if there is a driver loaded for the touchpad with the external mouse disconnected.
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Win2k Pro service pack4
    I booted laptop without external mouse, the touchpad and joystick (the one on the keyboard) do not work. I plugged an external mouse into the PC and that works but as I did not boot with the external mouse connected the touch pad and joystick do not work.

    I have a saitek joystick USB.
    In device manager under "mice and other pointing devices"
    I have two entries
    1) HID-compliant mouse
    if i look at properties on this device, manufacture: Microsoft location: on saitek magic mouse. Device working properly
    2) Synaptics PS/2 port pointing device
    if i look at properties maufacturer: Synaptics - location: on PCI standard ISA bridge, Device working properly

    i also have a saitek joy stick and under "human Interface devices" I have an entry for Saitek Magic Mouse
    properties: maufacturer: Saitek Location: on root enumerator, Device working properly.

    I also have a device called
    Saitek Magic Bus. with an entry for root enumerator.

    Now I have rebooted with the external mouse connected. The touchpad and keyboard joystick work.
    The device manager settings are still the same as above
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    btw - the saitek joystick USB was NOT connected
     
  5. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Update:-

    I have removed all the saitek software off the PC, still have the same problem.

    however, when I boot with the external mouse, the touchpad and keyboard joystick work.

    In the device manager, I have an entry for Synaptics PS/2 port pointing device - Properties: general - advanced - driver- resources: - in Drivers: I just have a synaptics PS/2 port pointing device.
    In control panel under mouse - device settings i have 3 devices all enabled - Standard pointing device, pointing stick, synaptics touchpad v5.8 all enabled.

    NOW if i boot without the external mouse so that the touchpad and keyboard joystick DO NOT work.
    I get in device manager, the same - but in control panel under mouse device settings I only have a standard pointing device. no longer have the pad or stick.

    booting without a mouse.
    in control panel under mouse I still have the standard pointing device.
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    *bump*
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    *bump* bump
     
  8. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Well...

    I don't know which 610 you have the 610c or 610v, but you can go here Compaq 610c 610v and get the keyboard/mouse drivers, and reinstall them...
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,256
    First Name:
    Wayne
    solved - downloaded driver and reinstalled - thanks
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/215668

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice