1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop not connecting to the internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brara007, Feb 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brara007

    brara007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Hi

    My dell laptop is not connecting to the internet but is connected through wireless. But it is on local only. It normally connects to the internet. The wireless router works on my other computer. Can someone tell me how to connect to the internet.
     
  2. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    What is the make and model of your router/modem?
    And also what OS are you running on your laptop (Xp,Vista,Windows7) ?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    Also please tell us if your wireless is encrypted and show ...

    Start, Run, CMD, OK to open a command prompt:
    (For Vista or 7 type CMD in the Search box after Start)

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.
     
  4. brara007

    brara007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    its a Belkin n type router. the model is F5D8633-4. I'm using XP OS.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    That looks like a good IP configuration, but since it's static we can't tell if there is any communication with the router.

    Can it connect successfully by ethernet?

    If your network is secured disable encryption on the router and try to connect. If successful you can probably re-enable encryption and reconnect.

    If that doesn't work please set your wireless to use a dynamic connection ...

    To configure a dynamic IP address on your Windows Vista or 7 computer:

    1. Click Start.
    2. Select Network, then Network and Sharing Center, and click Manage network connections from the list of tasks.
    3. Right click the connection of interest and click Properties.
    4. Select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) from the list and click the Properties button.
    5. Select Obtain an IP address automatically.
    6. Select Obtain DNS Server address automatically.
    7. Click OK.
    8. Click Close.

    Try to connect again, and if no good please show another ipconfig /all. It's probably easier if you use a text file (I use Notepad) and then just copy the output directly to a post here (definitely easier for us :) ).
     
  6. brara007

    brara007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    The internet still dose not work.

    C:\Users\abhishek>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : abhishek-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Marvell Yukon 88E8040 PCI-E Fast Ethernet
    Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-23-AE-08-AE-E8
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1397 WLAN Mini-Card
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-22-5F-50-62-D1
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5dfb:2d74:f361:4e6c%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.25(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.2.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 218112607
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-12-30-30-30-00-22-5F-50-62-D1

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 4.2.2.2
    4.2.2.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{F5282C54-40B1-4E3F-BFA8-D8E6DBC51
    9DE}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{DC004643-0E79-488E-85AE-260B2F3F0
    0FD}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  7. brara007

    brara007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    it dosent connect through Ethernet
     
  8. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    After doing the repairs below please try the following pings in a Command prompt window. You can post the results the same way as for the ipconfig /all

    ping 192.168.2.25

    ping 192.168.2.1

    ping 4.2.2.2

    ping yahoo.com



    (From a JohnWill post)

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start, Programs\Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  9. brara007

    brara007 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i tried to do the first thing you said and it came up with this
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 192.168.2.25

    Pinging 192.168.2.25 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.25:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 4.2.2.2

    Pinging 4.2.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 4.2.2.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\abhishek>

    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh winsock reset catalog
    The requested operation requires elevation.


    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Global, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Interface, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Route, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    Then i tried the other thing and it came up with this

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6002]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 192.168.2.25

    Pinging 192.168.2.25 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.25:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 192.168.2.1

    Pinging 192.168.2.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 192.168.2.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping 4.2.2.2

    Pinging 4.2.2.2 with 32 bytes of data:
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.
    PING: transmit failed, error code 1231.

    Ping statistics for 4.2.2.2:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    C:\Users\abhishek>ping yahoo.com
    Ping request could not find host yahoo.com. Please check the name and try again.


    C:\Users\abhishek>

    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh winsock reset catalog
    The requested operation requires elevation.


    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Global, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Interface, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Unicast Address, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    Reseting Route, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.


    C:\Users\abhishek>netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log
    Reseting Echo Request, failed.
    The requested operation requires elevation.
    There's no user specified settings to be reset.

    Internet still not working
     
  10. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Like I said have you tried reseting your router/modem to factory default, you would be amazed at what problems this can solve?
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    Did you "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt?

    What firewall do you, or did you previously, have on this computer?
     
  12. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,169
    First Name:
    Terry
    Agreed if solves many network problems. :) But, did you notice the error pinging his own NIC? That has nothing to do with the router.
     
  13. Liam1

    Liam1

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    This is really strange, I've never really dealt with this before.
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/906310

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice