1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop not connecting to wireless network

Discussion in 'Networking' started by dinsy1980, Mar 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dinsy1980

    dinsy1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I have a wireless network at home but my laptop does not connect to it. The network works as my iPhone connects to it az well as my PS3. The laptop finds the network and has full bars for connectivity but it is only on a local network. I don't have a P.C in the home, the only time I can go online is when the laptop is plugged in. My laptop operates with vista.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    can we see the following information
    ipconfig /all and xirrus details


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {ipconfig /all}
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post results here

    We would like to see the results from ipconfig /all post back the results in a reply here

    Hold the Windows key and press R, then type CMD then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results to notepad and then automatically open notepad.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results to a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy
    Now go back to the forum - reply and then right click in the reply box and paste
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. dinsy1980

    dinsy1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    I can connect to the Internet, just not wirelessly
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    so can we see the ipconfig /all when NOT connected by cable and see the results - save the notepad file and then post back here when connected by cable

    also the xirrus screen shot
     
  5. dinsy1980

    dinsy1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Esprimo_User-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : Home
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5007EG Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-16-44-A3-A9-58
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::979:97d6:fe44:6248%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.5(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 11 March 2011 21:12:51
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 12 March 2011 21:12:51
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 234886724
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Home
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : SiS191 Ethernet Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-33-05-A2-CA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : isatap.{A2B7F4B7-B31D-42AD-A668-A1BB968ACF3D}
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 10:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 11:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 14:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 15:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 18:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : 6TO4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    I'm having problems downloading xirrus
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    you have a Atheros AR5007EG adapter and if running vista and using WPA(2) wireless encryption, we are seeing lots of issues with that adapter


    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros AR5007EG & AR5007
    We have recently been seeing a whole lot of problems with that adapter over the last couple months, especially with WPA(2) encryption and windows Vista.

    The adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK. - Post back here if that does work or not.

    In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver." That apparently has worked for some posters. If not, download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section.

    You can post the Make and EXACT model of PC here, along with the windows version you have and we can find the driver and post a link here.

    On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    Assuming that also does not work all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.
    You might also bug your laptop's tech support about the problem--maybe people can put pressure on Atheros to find a fix.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. dinsy1980

    dinsy1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Hi,

    No joy im afraid.

    Could you send me a link to the driver that I need please?


    ESPRIMO Mobile V5535
    Serial number: YKDA444876
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows Vista Home
     
  8. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    No joy with what ?
    do you mean you have tried to Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and you are still unable to connect to the internet and surf OK

    if you put that serial number into this website
    http://uk.ts.fujitsu.com/support/

    it will open to all the details for your laptop
    then click on "drivers and downloads"
    click on vista
    click on wlan
    you then have a choice of
    WLAN miniCard D2301
    WN2302A mPCI WLAN IEEE802.11 b/g

    have a look in device manager to see which device you have
    {Device Manager}
    Post back the results in device manager
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Start > control Panel {Vista set to classic view}> system > {Vista, device manager on left hand side} {XP hardware Tab, device manager button} >
    network adaptors, click on the + >

    lets also see a xirrus screen shot

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    {run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector} Download and install
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC

    http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifitools.php
    Direct link to the program is here http://www.xirrus.com/library/wifi_download_redirect.php
    Then run and install the program
    if you get an error - You need NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.

    Run the program

    post a screen shot of the program running - if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information, and also post which network "Adapter Name" (1st column) is yours on the list

    To post a screen shot of the active window, hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.
    To upload it to the forum, open the full reply window and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
    Full details are here http://library.techguy.org/wiki/TSG_Posting_a_Screenshot

    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. vales1

    vales1

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    I dinsy1980, I have the same problem sometimes. Have you tried right clicking on the wireless network icon and click on repair? I'm on Win7 now and unfortunately it doesn't come with that feature anymore. But I was able to download a "renew and release" .bat file and it works like a charm everytime I couldn't connect to the net.
     
  10. dinsy1980

    dinsy1980 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Got it sorted now.
    I called the broadband provider and it was something to do with the security keys. Had to change it from the WPA2 (personal) to WEP. Seems to be working fine now.
    Thanks for all your help.
     
  11. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    (y) thanks for letting us know - as suggested in post #6
    You can mark your own threads solved using the [​IMG] button at the top of the page of the thread in the upper left corner. :)
     
  12. etaf

    etaf Wayne Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,913
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Driver Update
    A couple of posters here with the issue , found that the driver from this site http://www.atheros.cz/ resolved the issue
    Threads are here
    http://forums.techguy.org/networking/983081-solved-public-network-access-local.html
    http://forums.techguy.org/networking/984731-solved-unidentified-network.html

    I do NOT know anything about the site mentioned http://www.atheros.cz/

    However, if you do decide to try the driver, please let us know the outcome

    Direct link to the drivers are below

    AR5007
    Vista 32 Bit
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=21&system=3

    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 Bit
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=22&system=3
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/985322