1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Laptop not recognizing wireless router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Stealthz, May 5, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Stealthz

    Stealthz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    So my laptop stopped recognizing my wireless router out of nowhere. One minute it was connected to the internet, the next it was on and off, I reset it and restarted and it wasn't recognized. Currently only working if Ihave an ethernet cable directly connected from modem to laptop or modem to router/router to laptop.

    Specs:

    Windows 7
    Time Warner Cable modem
    Edimax wireless router

    Help is appreciated.
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Please attach a screen shot of the Networks page (don't collapse the Radar, Connection or Signal History) of the Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector. If you need help with that see TSG Posting a Screenshot. FWIW to take screen shots with Windows 7 or Vista I prefer to use the built-in Snipping Tool.
     
  3. Stealthz

    Stealthz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    202
  4. xenosaga01

    xenosaga01

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Do you have any other devices connected wirelessly to your router? Did you change any settings in your router recently?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    None of those networks have a strong enough signal for a reliable connection. Is one of them yours?

    Try about 10 to 12 feet from the router and try again to attach a screen shot per the TSG instructions.
     
  6. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    You didn't state in your post, but is the Wireless indicator light "On" for the Edimax?
    If the indicator is not lit, the Edimax radio may be turned off or it may have stopped working completely.

    To check that the radio is turned "On".
    Connect to the Edimax by ethernet.
    Open your browser and type 192.168.2.1 into the address bar and hit enter.
    Edimax Login page. Type in the user name and password, then hit OK. Default name/password are admin/1234.
    Select General Settings.
    Select Wireless.
    Check that Enable has been selected for Wirless module function and click Apply.
    Click Continue.
    Click Advanced Settings.
    Make sure Broadcast NSSID is Enabled.
    Click Apply.
    Click Apply.

    Check Wireless indicator light to make sure it is on.
    Check using either View Network Connections or Xirrus to be sure your router is broadcasting and the wireless adapter sees it.
     
  7. Stealthz

    Stealthz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    202
  8. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    That ipconfig shows an ethernet connection directly to the modem, not to the router.

    With the computer connected by ethernet to the router, open a command prompt and type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    [Note that there is no space between the slash and ALL.]

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If necessary use a text file and removable media to copy the results to a computer with internet access.

    The IP Address that shows for Default Gateway is the router and is the address to type into your browser to access the router.


    Did you change the user name/password needed to access the router?
    This is not your wifi security password.?

    If you changed the username/pasword used to access the router and cannot remember them , you will need to do a factory reset of the router.
     
  9. Stealthz

    Stealthz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    My laptop has an ethernet cable from laptop to router. Router has a cable going to the cable modem. That was the setup when I took the above screen shot, and is still the current set up. Here is the results of the ipconfig /all

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Ben>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ben-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : nc.rr.com

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 72-A3-C4-C1-62-5A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom NetLink (TM) Gigabit Ethernet
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : B8-70-F4-82-27-FB
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::a0c5:dadf:a4ff:ecf0%12(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 71.65.244.101(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.240.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Monday, June 18, 2012 10:39:54 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 7:33:56 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 71.65.240.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 10.130.160.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 431517940
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-64-0E-EC-68-A3-C4-C1-62-5A

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : Belkin
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Atheros AR5B97 Wireless Network Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 68-A3-C4-C1-62-5A
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.nc.rr.com:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{A6B53E64-69BD-460C-9B25-9DEA11CCAC72}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter 6TO4 Adapter:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : nc.rr.com
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:4741:f465::4741:f465(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 2002:c058:6301::c058:6301
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 209.18.47.61
    209.18.47.62
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e76:4ab:3377:b8be:b9a(Prefer
    red)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::4ab:3377:b8be:b9a%13(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.Belkin:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    C:\Users\Ben>
     
  10. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Like I said, that 71.65.244.xxx looks like a direct connection to the modem.

    Does does the ipconfig /all for a direct connection from the computer to the modem give IP addresses in the same 71.65.244.xxx range?

    What does an ipconfig /all show with the router disconnected from the modem, but connected to the computer? Try using the IP address that shows as the Gateway IP in your browser to access the router.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    The public IP address means that

    a. the modem is connected to a router LAN port instead of the WAN port; or

    b. the router is in some type of "bypass" or "AP" mode; or

    c. the router is defective.
     
  12. Stealthz

    Stealthz Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    I've made sure the router to modem was WAN port to modem. (I don't see a LAN port), and my router is connected from a port to my laptop. Regardless if I try this set up or a direct connection to the modem, I still get the 71.65.244.xxx range in ipconfig. No idea what the problem is...
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,504
    Brief Logic 101 lesson on the use and meaning of the logical "or" ...

    If a or b or c is TRUE
    then one or more of a, b, c is TRUE (they can't all be FALSE).

    So, if my post # 11 is TRUE, and you are correct about "a" being FALSE, then b or c must be TRUE.
     
  14. dlsayremn

    dlsayremn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,852
    Do a factory reset of the Edimax.

    Disconnect the Edimax from the modem and the computer.
    On the back of the router by the power socket or underneath, there is a recessed Reset button.
    Use a pin or similar object to hold this button down for about 20 seconds to start the reset.
    Once the router has stabilized, connect the computer only to the router.
    Check to see that you have a good connection to the router and that the computer's IP is 192.168.2.x.
    If this does not work, the router is defective.

    If you get a good connection to the router, go into the User Interface and check the Wireless settings to be sure the radio is turned On and SSID broadcast is tuned ON.

    Using Xirrus check to see if the router is broadcasting. If Xirrus does not show the router, the radio is defective.

    Note: Check status of "b" in the logic train.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1052107