1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

laptop not working

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by TheCursedJester, Dec 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TheCursedJester

TheCursedJester Thread Starter

Hey there, I'm new to the forum and im a basic beginner to computing (college student) so please forgive me and have a little patience if I miss anything out or do not fully understand a few things. Thanks. :cool:

Now I have a four year old laptop - Compaq, windows vista Home premium, the main line of specs I do not know so well since its been busted and refusing to work for the last two years. After taking it to various people to just have a look at and check out they returned it with nothing (then again these were shops out in the small island of Cyprus) until my College teacher back in England, York took a look, and said something about its graphics card being fried. Hence why its not working.

My question here is, since shes pretty much left it off there and never got around to seeing if she could fix it, is that is it possible to change a graphics card on a laptop? Or video card? One or the other you call it.

Looking at some question/answer sites or articles they say its either impossible or very hard to do, but for some videos like on youtube or some other website they show that its apparently very easy. Which has left me a little confused you see.

The laptop itself can be turned on, the button lights up and the symbols (battery, caps lock, cd, extra) light up with it, inside you can hear it whirr and start up.. then it just seems to falter, turning off and on as though it was restarting multiple times, and the screen remains blank.

(would have some pictures, but now the camera is on the blink, ha ha.)