1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

LapTop Problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BAZZA_UK, Sep 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BAZZA_UK

    BAZZA_UK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    I have just reformatted a toshiba laptop for a friend , he had windows xp home installed and wanted windows xp pro as an upgrade. As his old windows was loaded with stuff his kids had downloaded he asked for a fresh install ie wipe clean drive. Windows xp pro installed ok but when finished and i was asked "did i want windows to automatically set screen resolution" i chose yes as per normal.....the screen then went dark as if it were altering settings but it just stayed that way until i had to reboot to get back to windows....i then tried doing it myself through advanced screen settings and the same thing happened.
    Can anyone tell me what i may be able to do to fix this.
    Do i need to download a driver ?
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    With LCD screens you must select a low Refresh rate. 60 Hz is fine (LCD's do not need refresh like a CRT) as anything too high will usually stop it displaying.

    The correct driver would fix this, but you should be able to do it in safe mode if it will not boot fully.
     
  3. DaveBurnett

    DaveBurnett Account Closed

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    12,970
    Download the drivers from the Laptop Manufacturers web site.
     
  4. BAZZA_UK

    BAZZA_UK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Thanks for your input Kiwiguy & Dave Burnett,
    I have tried the manufacturers site to no avail at present and have ran aida32 to try and see the kind of graphics card i need the driver for but under display driver ect nothing is shown.
    So at the moment i am stuck with huge icons ect as i can't alter the screen display size.
    I did a google search for Toshiba S3000-X4 graphics driver and it seems that there are other people in the same boat and they are getting no help from contacting Toshiba.
    I shall continue looking for a driver today. Thanks guys.
     
  5. BAZZA_UK

    BAZZA_UK Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    I managed to get hold of some toshiba drivers on disc and system is A1 now.
    Thanks for your suggestions !!!!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/269656

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice